Parenting 2.0

Rice Cereal? Check!

Posted on: March 2, 2010

Well we did it! Rice cereal went down the hatch on March 1st: Niko’s five and a half month mark.  I had been thinking about it for a while, so following my own instincts and with the encouragement of a few other mommy friends, Niko got his first taste of solids yesterday. Solids though? Really? I am not so sure rice cereal can be classified as a solid seeing as what it really is, is a gooey mess! I am pretty sure half of Niko’s portion ended up on his bib, but he seemed to liked it. And how do I know he liked it? There were lots of tell tale signs.

1) I couldn’t seem to serve it up fast enough. If I took too long the ensuing, “ehh, ehh, ehh” could be heard coming from dis darling mouth. And with each “ehh” the pitch, insistence and impatience grew.

2) He gobbled up the whole serving (except for the part that clung to his bib), and even reached for the spoon to try to feed himself.

So I guess our little guy is growing up. I think part of the reason I wanted to hold off on rice cereal was because I don’t want to rush him, and selfishly just want him to be “baby baby” for as long as possible. Secondly, the mess produced by solids: on his face, up his nose, on his chair, in his eyebrows, you name it, well that’s a mess I’m not really looking forward to seeing everyday! But seeing as the mess will be produced by “my little messer”, then I guess it’s not so bad.

7 Responses to "Rice Cereal? Check!"

Who was his first valentine? Or is he allowed dating yet … ?

who do you think?
gramma of course!
that thoughtful little treat arrived in the mail a few days before the 14th!
as for dating? right now niko only has eyes for lena… 🙂

YEAH NIKO! Congrats! Now the fun begins! Mess, Mess, Mess.

thanks goodness for our furry wet mop – aka poodle pooch Frasier!

[…] Well, it turns out that feeding solids (or the mush that is classified as solids and otherwise knows and barley cereal) adds a whole new […]

[…] to have carrots on hand, so they became his first taste of “real” food (well, besides, rice, oat and barley mush). I was curious to see his reaction and caught some of it on video. Judging by […]

[…] will take him out of his high chair, bring him to another room and in another light I see yet more rice, barley or oat cereal (whatever the delicious flavour of the morning may be), caked in his eyebrows […]

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other subscribers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • bsw bsw: Here I am reading this blog 10+ years later with tears in my eyes. Just last Friday Frasier past away. He was an amazing dog and a cherished member of
  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated