Parenting 2.0

Rice Cereal: To Give or Not to Give

Posted on: February 19, 2010

Since our trip to Halifax I have been contemplating starting Baby N on rice cereal. My doctor said anywhere between four and six months is an acceptable time to start, and Niko is over five months at this point. Of all the solids, they say rice cereal is the one to start with. The reason I have been thinking about it is because I think it may help him sleep a little longer at night. While my floors are not really looking forward to the impending slosh of rice cereal that may end up on them, I console them with the fact that we do have a living, breathing, panting, barking, self-pick up vacuum living right here with us, so perhaps the mess won’t be too bad. But more to the point: am I ready for the rice cereal adventure and all that follows with it? I have been thinking about rice cereal for the last month and have done nothing more than think about it, so if my pattern continues Niko will probably be six months before he actually tries it.

While I was pregnant Borys and I decided we wanted to go the cloth diaper route, but at the same time did not want to put too much pressure on ourselves to say this is the way we were going for sure: we wanted to try it out first and then make our final decision, and so far we love using them (perhaps it is the high pressured hose we have attached to our toilet that helps with the cleaning that doesn’t make it so bad…). Anyway, once Niko starts on solids we are going to be revisiting the merits of cloth diapering. From what I’ve heard, solids brings a whole new ballgame to the arena of diapering, so time will tell if we want to stick with them or not.

3 Responses to "Rice Cereal: To Give or Not to Give"

Love the blogging. Just finished reading the one on babysitter Frasier, too cute! By the way Frasier is a monster….he is huge!

Okay, here are my two senses on Rice Cereal (if you’re asking of course). Jordana’s pediatrician gave us the green light to start cereal at 4 months. We did and it was great. She only took a couple of tablespoons at first but it seemed to have satisfied her and stretched her bottle feeding to 3.5- 4 hours as oppose to feeding every two.

It was a little challenging at first as it is so foreign to her but eventually she got the hang of it. It worked out really well for us.

Yes I am asking and thanks for your input!

So…did you give it to her every time she ate? Or just at night? I guess I could find all these answers on the internet or in books, but I love to mooch advice off others … 🙂

[…] we did it! Rice cereal went down the hatch on March 1st: Niko’s five and a half month mark.  I had been thinking about it for a while, so following my own instincts and with the encouragement of a few other mommy friends, Niko got […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

My Tweet Life

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

