Parenting 2.0

Belly Full O’Barley

Posted on: March 9, 2010

Well, it turns out that feeding solids (or the mush that is classified as solids and otherwise known as barley cereal) adds a whole new dimension to the process of getting ready. Niko had his swimming lesson today and I woke him (which I hate to do in the first place) with what I thought was enough time to eat some barley, get dressed and get out the door, and we did make it there with just a minute to spare, but the feeding of these “solids” takes longer than expected at times. I mean, Niko likes to look around, talk between spoonfuls, occasionally suck on his fingers and then proceed to rub barley all over his face, neck, nose, you name it. You really just can’t rush a baby into eating, and I don’t want to rush him, but I was definitely watching the minutes tick away as he was babbling between mouthfuls of barley this morning.

On a side note: Once we got to swimming Niko had a great time. The whole class donned lifejackets and he was happily floating around on his front and his back, and I gave him his weekly dunking, which he didn’t seem to mind either. We always end our lesson in the hot tub – which, from a purely selfish perspective, is a great way to relax and warm up. But little Niko got so relaxed that as we were sitting there, me chit chatting with some of the other moms and Niko sitting in the warm water, I felt him getting progressively heavier and heavier, and when I looked down I saw that he had completely nodded off. One mom noticed and laughed and said to me, “I saw him looking down further and further, and I thought he was really foucssing on something. But then I realized, I don’t think he’s focussing, I think he’s fallen asleep”! Who falls asleep at a swimming lesson!? I guess a baby with a belly full of barley does.

5 Responses to "Belly Full O’Barley"

[…] on hand, so they became his first taste of “real” food (well, besides, rice, oat and barley mush). I was curious to see his reaction and caught some of it on video. Judging by the look on his […]

[…] take him out of his high chair, bring him to another room and in another light I see yet more rice, barley or oat cereal (whatever the delicious flavour of the morning may be), caked in his eyebrows or […]

[…] As I was feeding Niko barley cereal with a dash of prunes this morning, I had to do a double take when I thought I caught a glimpse of […]

[…] Feeding him, sure does take a lot of time! But, man have I caught up on my TV! Rogers on Demand, has really […]

[…] a day serving of prunes seems to have done the trick quite nicely – just mixed in with his barley or oat cereal. Actually, evidence tells me that the trick may have been done just a little too […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

