Parenting 2.0

All I Wanted for Christmas: A VBAC

Posted on: December 27, 2011

Looks like I was on the “Nice” list, because I got exactly what I wanted!

Yes, a weird thing to wish for, but after having a cesarean section with Niko in 2009, I knew that was one birthing option that wasn’t at the top of my list. Not that there are many options really. I mean that little person just grows and grows, bigger and bigger, in your tummy until one day, it’s time to come out – and really, neither option: C-Section, nor vaginal birth is too appealing. But having experienced the former I knew that I wasn’t going to opt for that one again – unless of course it came down to the emergency version, then what other option would I have? Ultimately, I wanted a mode of delivery that was safest for the baby. And if that could come in the form of a VBAC (vaginal birth after c-section) then that’s the mode I wanted and wished for.

It’s funny because since about mid-November I had started using visualization as a technique to help prolong my pregnancy. On a daily basis I visualized myself pregnant at Christmas: more specifically me sitting under (or near) the tree with Niko opening presents, and me with a huge prego belly. Well, I almost made it to Christmas, but at 11:02pm on Christmas Eve, our little Stella was born – VBAC and all! Yah.

We are so happy to welcome this little lady into our family, and so far the transition has been a smooth one. Niko loves his little sis and often wants to hold and caress her. (But also has to be reminded about doling out his love gently – perhaps not best demonstrated by say, squeezing her). But still, we are happy to be a family of four now and so looking forward to getting to know our newest member!

Welcome Stella! We love you with all our hearts!

13 Responses to "All I Wanted for Christmas: A VBAC"

welcome beautiful niecelet!

What a wonderful surprise!! Congratulations…..Alli !…:)) Stella is beautiful. As a true star ! Let it grow healthily and be happy.
I embrace you most cordially, and I am happy with you…:))

Thanks so much for your kinds words. We are thrilled with the safe arrival of our little lady!

Many many congratulations on the VBAC delivery of your beautiful daughter! So pleased you had the birth experience you were hopIng for.

thanks for your kind words and well wishes. you never know how it will all turn out until it’s over, but we are def. happy with the result! 🙂

congratulations to you all on your little pink bundle, Stella. May you enjoy every memory you create with her in the years to come. Alii, you look radiant!

hi heather, thanks for visiting my blog and thanks for the comment! what an emotional thing to give birth as I am sure you can relate to. We are super happy to welcome this little pink bundle! Merry Christmas! xx

Congratulations for your beautiful baby girl! And, for having given birth the way you wished for! God bless you all.

(Last night I was writing to you when the power went out)

Congratulations on a successful VBAC! I am so happy for you that you were able to have the birth you had hoped for. There is no better way to celebrate the holiday season then with a new bundle of joy 🙂 Happy New Year!

[…] the plan was a great one. One that appealed much to the side of me that had just popped out a baby a week ago. A plan that involved enjoying dinner at Graeme’s house (he’s a certified chef!) with […]

OMG (so sorry to be using that abreviation)! I had been away so long that I didn’t catch this until I started catching up!

Congrats on your little girl! I was opposite from you; I had a VB with the first (forcepts) and a C-sec. with the second. I preferred the c-section because of the trauma with the forcepts (ouch!).

Glad to hear everyone is happy & healthy! Many blessings for what is to come!

[…] These pics were taken just a few hours before Stella was born. First we had a traditional Polish style dinner – although this time I had a valid excuse for […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

