Parenting 2.0

Wake Me Up Before you Go-Go

Posted on: November 8, 2011

My baby girl’s keeping me up all night and she’s not even born yet! I know there’s a lack of sleep involved with newborns, and for this I am mentally prepared. But what book, friend or millionth piece of advice out there, forewarns expectant mothers that the sleepless nights may come even before the baby is born. Don’t get me wrong, at this stage in the game, when my little babe is at a gestational age of only 32 weeks and 2 days, I would rather be having sleepless nights while she’s still nestled in my belly, than while she’s born prematurely and living in an incubator at the NICU. But still, I just wasn’t prepared to be up all night with my unborn baby. They just don’t warn you about these things.

So the other night around 2 AM I started having labour pains. What else to do but monitor myself for 20 minutes or so, waiting to see if they would subside or if indeed these pains would mean a trip to the hospital? After about 20 minutes of me timing contractions, listening to my husband’s sleeping-breathing and growing increasingly anxious, I figured it was time to wake him and get this “birth plan” into action. But what “birth plan” really? I mean, it was too early – AGAIN! And I wasn’t exactly hospital ready. But what else can you do when baby starts knocking on the entrance to the world? Little Niko was of course unaware and seeing as we couldn’t get a hold of my father-in-law I called on my friends Traci and Paul to come over and Niko-sit. Ironically, I had just asked them that night if they could be our emergency back-up babysitters if I ever went into labour in the middle of the night.

Anyway, Traci came over. Borys and I rushed to the hospital and I was hooked up to many monitors – not to mention poked, prodded and tested in various ways to see what in fact was going on. Thankfully after a few hours of contractions – and yes they were real contractions, painful and clearly documented on said monitor, they subsided. Turns out baby girl was knocking, but not quite ready to open the door! Phewf!

And after that, I didn’t get a bit of sleep. All I could hear was the beating of my unborn baby’s heart, projected from one of the monitors. In a way, it was nice to hear, the constant and strong beating of that little heart inside me. But some shut-eye for mama to be would have been nice too. Borys on the other hand, had no problem falling asleep. So really it was the beating of her heart intermingled with the quiet breathing of my husband that created the perfect recipe for a sleepless night. I blame them both!


5 Responses to "Wake Me Up Before you Go-Go"

Ah..Alli..!..Hug you tight and I keep my fingers crossed …
I send my best thinking

thank you for your positive thoughts!

[…] my stint in the hospital I had a short list of “please-bring-mes” that I dished out over the phone to my lovely […]

[…] pregnancy has not been easy. Not so much that there were any major complications, but just the stress of it all – making it through another week, day, hour and celebrating as […]

[…] safe to say Operation Incubation can now be considered a success. Even though there have been a few bumps along the road, at 38 weeks and 5 days pregnant, I am now full term and just awaiting the arrival of our little […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

