Parenting 2.0

Limits on my Lifestyle, While I Grow a Life

Posted on: October 31, 2011

As of late, like let’s say, oh the last 7 months, I have become progressively more limited in what I can do in a day. A high-risk pregnancy means lots of ultrasounds, lots of appointments and lots of rules, and my husband is one the biggest proponents in supporting/enforcing these rules. And I get it. It’s his baby too. And naturally we both want what’s best for the little body growing inside me. I’m all for adhering to the rules of this inactive lifestyle, but that’s not to say that it’s not a challenge. I am a naturally active and busy person. I think of myself as an accomplisher, and being off work and limited in my daily allowances of movement has not been without it’s challenges.

Especially challenging during these last few months has been my decreased ability to interact with Niko. Not that I can’t see him and love him on a daily basis. But there’s no more lifting of the little tyke, which makes it hard to comfort him in his two-year old times of need. Like when he has a boo-boo or just isn’t feeling 100%. Anyway, we have adapted, and time is marching on.

In talking with my friend Sue a few weeks back, she said not to worry, my main job now is incubating. Ha. I liked that. I’ve adopted that as my mantra, and I have somewhat grown to accept that dust bunnies will take longer residence under my bed during this time of incubation.

3 Responses to "Limits on my Lifestyle, While I Grow a Life"

[…] loved a good deal, and these days I have A LOT of time on my hands (I’m off work, due to my high risk pregnancy). Who knows if I’ll keep this up once reality sets in: when our baby girl arrives and I am at […]

[…] This pregnancy has not been easy. Not so much that there were any major complications, but just the stress of it all – making it through another week, day, hour and celebrating as each chunk of time passed. […]

[…] I think it’s safe to say Operation Incubation can now be considered a success. Even though there have been a few bumps along the road, at 38 […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

