Parenting 2.0

Toddler Warns Parents of Sharp Object

Posted on: September 8, 2011

Mornings can be hectic. Despite the fact that I am now a stay at home mom, sans toddler*, the mornings still have a way of running at a quick pace. I mean Borys still gets ready for work, Niko has to be duly aided in his morning routine, and I, well I am sort of just sitting at the sidelines doing my best to ensure the process runs smoothly.

As of late Niko’s vocabulary is expanding on a daily basis. Even just this morning, I heard “dolphin”, “whale” and “sharp” for the first time. Now while “dolphin” and “whale” can be easily explained – he has two little bath toys in their likeness that he insisted on carrying around with him today. “Sharp” is a little more worrisome.

This is how it all happened… Niko had finished his breakfast and was scooting around our main floor, playing with his cars, bugging Frasier, and running around in circles between our kitchen, hallway, living room and dining room. And this was all before 8 AM. Mind you, I was close at hand, busy at the dining room table, checking email. Nothing pressing in there really, but you know, once you get to the inbox zone, the background noise of daily living becomes a sort of ambiance much like the white noise of a television. So, as I’m checking email, and Niko’s delighting himself by scurrying around our main floor I am only vaguely aware of what he’s saying. But whatever it is, he’s got it on repeat and soon enough it becomes clear. He’s gleefully repeating “sharp”, “sharp”, “sharp”, while he’s running his route. Sharp!? Wait a minute. His repetition of this word busts me free from my email reverie and focuses me on what’s actually happening.

I look up to see Niko running his loop, smile on face, with the BBQ tongs in hand and with “sharp” continually spouting from his mouth. Needless to say the tongs were immediately revoked, and the tears of loss ensued, but with a little redirection he was just as happy to be running with Lightning McQueen as he had been with the tongs. Geesh. We keep the knives out of reach, but who would have thought the tongs to be so enticing. Lesson learned.

* My main job these days is incubating. Our little girl is due January 1, and seeing as I have a high-risk pregnancy with a few complications I am off work and currently on modified bedrest.

1 Response to "Toddler Warns Parents of Sharp Object"

[…] earlier today, amidst the morning chaos, as I’m doing dishes, packing Daddy’s lunch, sweeping the floor, putting the dog out, […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

