Parenting 2.0

My Baby Likes Toilet Water?

Posted on: August 28, 2010

Niko’s in to everything these days.

I keep as watchful an eye as I can, but at some points I really just need to get things done, like brushing my teeth or changing out of my pajamas. You know, things that help you start the day off on the right foot. So, like I said, Niko’s into everything: drawers, toilet paper, cupboards, etc. He’s even taken to munching on wrapped bars of soap that he finds in the bathroom. Seriously, what’s the draw there? Isn’t that an old school punishment for tweens who prove to have a potty mouth? What’s the allure? I just don’t get it.

The other day, Niko discovered a whole new meaning for the term “toilet water”. Niko and I were in my bedroom, with him crawling aimlessly (or seamlessly, in many directions at once) underfoot. I was trying to figure out what to wear and thinking he was pretty safe: the bedroom door was closed, so he’s (relatively) safe right? But my bedroom also includes a tiny washroom and a walk-in closet. So as I’m “la dee daaing” and perusing my clothes, I hear the distinct sound of tiny splashes. What? I careen my way toward the sound only to find Little Niko, standing against the toilet and leaning over with both hands happily splashing in the toilet water. “Niko! Ewww! Get your hands out of there, you little monkey.”

Lesson learned: from now on, our house will be a “toilet-seat-cover-down” kind of place. At least when we remember to put it down, because already there’s been repeat incidents like the one described above.

Note to self: Must remember to put toilet cover down.


2 Responses to "My Baby Likes Toilet Water?"

Yes, now is the time when you have to have eyes everywhere. You have to look twice. Such madness takes about two years..:)
Once I went to my friend who had two small sons. What I saw was amazing! To a height of 1.5 m above the floor, there was no furniture or other equipment and small items. Everything was placed on the refined design of the ceiling and on the shelves …!..:))

Wow – that’s quite the organizational strategy. I’m not quite sure if I have the mindset or energy to do such a thing – but time will tell what sort of management works best for us. As of yesterday one baby gate has been permanently installed at the top of our basement stairs…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

