Parenting 2.0

Timing Daycare: It Ain’t Easy

Posted on: August 24, 2010

There’s something to be said for planning ahead and preparing the night before. Thank goodness I’m a “live and learn” kind of gal, so when I didn’t plan ahead and didn’t prepare the night before I just thought to myself, “Well next time I’ll know”. I mean I had good intentions; I had planned to pack Niko’s daycare bag and prepare his lunch in the evening, but by the time I got around to having the time to do it, I was too tired and let’s just face it, watching TV was a much more appealing option.

Anyway, as I was scrambling around this morning and cursing myself for not preparing beforehand, I couldn’t help but take a moment between the coffee brewing, scooting the dog out to do his business, feeding Niko (thank goodness he’s getting more comfortable with finger foods these days), etc. etc., to reflect on how this was my little man’s first full day at daycare. Wow. A whole day without Mommy. A whole day without Daddy. Just him on his own with Sherri and his daycare buds. It was then, when I looked down at my pants and noticed a splotch of yogurt right on my crotch, that I burst out of my reverie and thought, “Oh yes, this is going to be a great day.” At that point I didn’t even have the mental capacity to contemplate another outfit, much less have time to go change into one. So it was off to the Board office with a yogurt stained attire. But I don’t think anyone even noticed, except for my colleagues who I had previously relayed the story to.

So, lesson learned: getting ready for work is now a whole new production. It’s not just little old me that needs to prepare herself, but I’ve also got to plan for, feed, dress and supply the little guy with enough goodies to get him through the day. One good thing is, I was so busy today that I barely had time to think about Niko. It was only at lunch when I checked my cell and had no messages that I took it as a good sign: things must be going at least OK. I mean if there was an emergency she would call, right? So, no messages. Yes, that’s a good thing.

By the time I got around to picking Niko up, after I’d faced my battle with the daily grind of rush hour, I was greeted with a smile that warmed my heart. He came right into my arms and I just loved that moment. When I got there, all the kids and Sherri were out back and Niko was swinging in a tiny swing, sporting his new shoes, with his chin and hands speckled with telltale signs of bits of sand. But who can blame the guy? I mean it’s just so tasty looking, right? Anyway, it was great to see him again. He survived. I survived. And ultimately this change is going to be good for both of us (at least that’s what I keep telling myself). And, tomorrow’s another day, and hopefully not one where I have to walk around with yogurt on my pants.

1 Response to "Timing Daycare: It Ain’t Easy"

[…] all of last year anyway? But a mom that faces the traffic, packs her babe up in the morning and rushes out the door to the real world, or at least the world that is my current […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

