Parenting 2.0

A Crying Daycare Baby

Posted on: August 19, 2010

Babies sure know how to lay it on thick. When I dropped Niko off today, and passed him over to Sherri, his daycare provider, he started crying, pouting and generally did a great job at looking quite upset. Then Sherri’s little guy, joined in the chorus: fun, crying babes in tandem. All the while I was trying to speak over the tears and tell her what was in Niko’s daycare bag, at the same time trying to quell my urge to take Niko back and calm him myself. I mean, I’m the one who helps put an end to his tears. It’s my arms where he finds comfort. And it was difficult to see him go with someone else as I left the house, got in to my car and drove away.

Anyway, despite the tearful start, he had a good afternoon. And all in all an hour here and a half day there, is a good way to ease me (and Niko) into this whole world of daycare. I need to come to terms with the fact that it won’t be me always soothing him. And as my hairdresser said, “He will love it there. He’ll meet some friends and be doing way more activities then he would be if he was just home alone with you all the time”. Harsh, but I see the truth there. This will be good for him. This will be good for me. A little independence for both of us.

1 Response to "A Crying Daycare Baby"

[…] A Crying Daycare Baby 11 Month Old vs. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

