Parenting 2.0

Baby Munches on Mysterious Blue Bug

Posted on: July 24, 2010

This situation took place a while ago, but seeing as it’s remained in the forefront of my mind, and seeing as I am over the initial shock, I now feel ready to share its full and hideous glory with the blogosphere. Will it serve as a cautionary tale? Maybe. Will it change the world for the better? Most definitely (just as the rest of my posts do on a daily basis). When it happened, I was too repulsed to write about it; I mean when your baby ends up with a live and unidentifiable bug in his mouth, it’s not something you necessarily want to keep as a permament memory. But you know what? As time passed I’ve had many a good laugh over the whole thing. So, here it is.

A few weeks ago, Little N Bomb was sitting on the floor playing with toys. At this point in his wee life he was still pretty stationary. So while he played, I stepped in to the kitchen to battle dishes or something housewifey like that. When I checked on him just a moment later, he had the strangest look on his face (one of puzzlement, verging on disgust), and a stream of drool that gave Niagara Falls a run for its money. I also noticed that he was moving something around in his mouth, and at this point I got a little worried. So I gently pried open his tiny jaw and scooped out a “wild blueberry”? But we didn’t have any blueberries in our house. Upon closer inspection I realized this “blueberry” had eight tiny wriggling legs and a hard shell. Ugh. I opened the front door and tossed it, never having seen the likes of it again.

It wasn’t until today, that I actually had the courage to Google this mysterious bug. And despite my best efforts, I couldn’t find an image of it anywhere. The best pics I could find were of a VW Bug, a wooden spider and a DC comic book character (and obviously none of them are what I found that day). I guess the closest one is the wooden spider, but the one Niko had in his mouth only had one body sphere, not two. And who knew there was even a comic book character called the Blue Beetle?! Geesh, the things you can learn on this wild and wacky interweb.

Click to support my blog

2 Responses to "Baby Munches on Mysterious Blue Bug"

[…] Baby Munches on Mysterious Blue Bug Baby Crawls and […]

[…] So,what about life after the baby stage? No one told me to prepare for this. All the focus was on preparing for the “baby”, but what about preparing for parenting a toddler? Niko’s  started a lovely new routine of screaming when something’s taken away from him. You may be wondering why I would take anything from a baby, but when he’s got his hands (and mouth) on the TV remote he always ends up changing the channel or messing with the volume. Or if it’s the cordless phone, he usually ends up turning it on between mouthfuls and dialing random numbers (I guess only my phone bill will reveal the success [or not] of his dialing). So yes, I take things from him and he starts  in full force with the drama. But my point is, that I don’t particularly feel ready for this stage of parenthood. This stage where he can wiggle around and move. This stage where he’s discovering everything and subsequently chewing on everything as well. (Hello, weird little alive blue bug! Yes, that’s what I found in his mouth the other day, but t….) […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

