Parenting 2.0

A Pink Cell Phone for my Baby Boy

Posted on: June 28, 2010

Yesterday I was forced to get my gender biases in check. Thank goodness.

Up until now most of Niko’s toys have been hand-me-downs from his cousin John Russell. He has so many toys that he doesn’t even play with all of them, but has taken to favouring a few: his box of blocks, a  little Tonka train set, Sophie (of course), and a few other randoms. Every once in a while I switch his toys so he can play with other ones, but his favourites remain the same. Actually one of his favourite things to play with is the remote for the TV or the cordless telephone. He just loves pressing the buttons and will reach for either item when Borys or I are using them.

Mostly for my own piece (or is it peace?) of mind, Niko doesn’t play with too many toys that make noise. You know the ones. They’re battery operated, and have sirens and buzzers, and other annoying sounds… I can’t really stand those types of toys: they make too much noise! So, Niko has been somewhat shielded.

This weekend we went to Marc and Mel’s house for lunch. Little Talia, who is about a year and a half old, has so many different toys and Niko had a great time playing, especially with the noisy ones (insert tiny feelings of guilt projecting from me, here.) He especially took a liking to a piano and a cell phone. Even I had to agree, this battery-operated cell phone was pretty cool: just big enough for his tiny hands, with lots of buttons to press. So after lunch Borys and I headed to the mall to get Niko his very own phone: seeing as he has a hankering for our cordless anyway, and he was having such a good time with Talia’s phone, we figured he might like to have a phone of his own.

When we got to Toys’R’Us the only phone I could find was hot pink and our conversation went something like this.

Me: Hmm…there has to be a blue one, or another colour. I don’t’ want to get him a pink phone.

Borys: Alli, it seems like a good phone, so why not?

Me: I don’t know. But I’m going to look around the store and see if I can find a different one.

10 minutes later…

Me (holding the hot pink cell and an alternative): So I found this other one.

Borys: Yah, but I don’t like it as much.

Me: Me neither.

B: So why don’t we just get him the pink one?

Me: Hmm…

B: Come on. It’s a nice bright vibrant colour and just because he’s a boy it doesn’t mean he can’t have a pink toy.

Me: You are totally right. Let’s get it.

So that’s the story of how Niko came to own a pink cell. And does he care that it’s pink? No. I’m just wondering why these colour biases are so deeply ingrained? I mean I think I’m a pretty open-minded person, but for some reason I was putting the brakes on getting a pink toy for the the Little N Man. But Daddy was right: it is a nice bright colour, and what’s wrong with that? Nothing.

3 Responses to "A Pink Cell Phone for my Baby Boy"

I think it’s great that Niko has a pink phone…there’s no reason why boys can’t be able to play with pink (or purple!) toys. Just as they should be able to play with dolls and easybake ovens when they’re older (I think I just aged myself!) As for the “noisy toys”, I agree with you. Think of it this way, it is something new for them to look forward to every time you visit your friends 🙂 I’m not sure if the phone makes noise, but if it’s the buttons Niko is after, take out the batteries! He’ll be none the wiser. xo

Thanks for the comment Nat. So when the boys are older, let’s get them together for an easy bake cooking party – decked out in aprons and all 😉

I like your idea about the excitement of visiting friends with noisy toys. I’ll go with that for now.

[…] written before about my take on noisy toys, and have taken the stance that they’re something to look forward to when we go to […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

