Parenting 2.0

What News?

Posted on: June 14, 2010

As Niko and I go about our daily business, son and mother forging forward into the world and further and further down maternity leave lane, we are not left with much time to do anything other than sticking with our routines. Some of our routines are as follows: Niko making a daily event out of commandeering his spoon, me trying to keep up with the laundry that goes with cloth diapering (and being a housewife in general), Niko becoming more interactive and busy by the day, me trying my best to entertain a nine month old, all the while keeping up with my blog, surviving the daycare dilemma (we found one, and we like it!), surviving the real estate roller coaster (we’re moving this week!), and surviving the tribulations of making my own baby food (I sort of lost that battle), just to name a few.

Amidst these daily adventures, my aptitude for the outside world has virtually vanished. I think I needed a reminder that yes, a world does exist beyond my relationship with Niko, with Borys, and with Frasier. That beyond the confines of my condo, there is a world, and it is thriving (or diving, depending on your perspective). It has come to my attention (in my blitz of parenting) that I have almost completely put the outside world on hold, not giving much attention to what’s going on beyond my immediate life (and the lives of the celebrities that I love to read gossip about). Which, by the way, Speidi (not to be confused with the masked superhero, but rather a nickname for the infamous reality TV couple, Spencer Pratt and Plastic Barbi, I mean Heidi Montag), is apparently getting divorced. So while my celebrity prowess is not something I am necessarily proud of, I do realize that I need to extend my reach beyond the troubles faced weekly by the Kardashian sisters. (Who are these women anyway? And why are they famous? This I have yet to discover.) Anyway, I know there’s a newsy world out there, a world that my husband reads about daily, a world that the rest of the population hears about daily, a world that I indeed need to reenter. A world that doesn’t include tuning in to The Hills, The Bachelorette or the ultimate in guilty pleasures Pauly D and the Jersey Shore.

So, in an attempt to get reacquainted with things non-baby related, I have resigned myself (after a little coercion – which some may classify as teasing – from my husband) to read the daily headlines (and if interested, the accompanying stories) on the CBC website. And man, have I (re)discovered a whole new world. Crazy stuff is going on. Some of it I don’t read too much about (I mean time is still an issue), but others are just so pressing they can’t be ignored. And while I personally can’t do much to help these situations, I at least am (slowly) reeducating myself about the current events of our times. And you know what? It feels good.

So after this long spiel, you may be wondering what is at the forefront of news stories in June 2010. In the present it’s easy to list them off, but days, months, weeks, years?, heck, decades from now, when people look back on this amazing post, they may wonder: What was it she was viewing on the CBC website? What was it that was going on in June 2010? Here’s a brief list of some headlines from this month, and here’s hoping that I can continue to stay In Touch with more than celebrity gossip. I think I can. I think I can…

Gulf Clean Up Requires Billions, BP Told

BP Oil Spill Cap in Action: New Underwater Video of Gulf Leak

Harper’s Gaza Flotilla Response Riles Activists

Guatemala Sinkhole is Massive, Swallows Building

Click to support my blog

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

