Parenting 2.0

Marathon Genes

Posted on: June 12, 2010

It’s inevitable: when a baby’s born people immediately start making comments about who he looks like. Does he have his father’s colouring? Does he have his mother’s eyes? You get the picture, and the same thing was true for us. When Niko was born we heard all sorts of opinions about our little man’s looks, and by far most people were unanimous in their opinion that little Niko looked a lot like Daddy: a certain Eastern European je ne sais quois. (Who am I kidding? Even I had to agree. Once I saw Borys’ baby photos, the similarities were obvious.)

So, somewhat to my chagrin, the comments kept coming in. Chagrin only because I carried this little babe for nine (well, eight), months and I’m the one who popped him out of my belly (hello C-section). I mean I must be in there somewhere, right? So for months and months the opinions have been coming in, and still the jury thinks he looks like Daddy. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, I mean I for one, quite fancy Daddy’s looks. But we’re both the parents, and it is nice when the odd person tells me they can see me in him.

But lately, yes lately, things have been changing. Babies always change and Niko’s no exception (just take a look at his monthly growth next to the karate build-a-bear), and recently people have been commenting more often (still not as often), but more often, that Niko looks like me too. Here’s the gist of a conversation that went on in our house the other day.

Borys: Your genes are like the marathon genes and mine are like the sprint ones.

Me: Huh?

B: I mean at first Niko looked a lot like me, but slowly and over time (like a marathon) your genes are coming to the forefront and Niko is looking more and more like you all the time.

Me: Really? Go on… 🙂

PS – I didn’t know that running a marathon would have this type of affect on my baby. Har har har…

Note: The accompanying self-portraits were taken this week when my entourage and I headed out for a walk. It’s so much easier to get Niko into the Baby Bjorn now that Summer’s here, and he doesn’t need all the bundling that was required in the winter. But now that Summer is here, it looks like Niko will outgrow this handy baby carrier sooner than later.


2 Responses to "Marathon Genes"

I can’t get over your (and Niko’s) eyes!! They are beautiful. What a lovely shade of blue 🙂
The same thing happened to us. Bresho is starting to look more like me (with lighter hair and skin). I’m all like: YESSSS…. even if I secretly want him to look like his handsome dad 😉
xxo

Thank you! But I think bcs we’re both wearing blue they look more blue…but still, nice to hear 🙂 I heard that most babies look their fathers when they’re first born – something about letting the daddy know that babe is his………………..

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

