Parenting 2.0

It’s Impetigo, Baby

Posted on: June 1, 2010

You know sometimes when you do something that seems like a good idea at the time, but in hindsight may not have been the best choice. This is Niko’s and my reality right now. Last Friday the Little N Man and I had an adventure at the grocery store: the adventurous part being that he got to sit in the grocery cart like a big boy for the first time. When I put him in there, I couldn’t help but think about all the hands that had touched the cart and that probably it wasn’t the cleanest of things for my little babe to be touching. Especially considering he’s at that stage where everything goes in his mouth, so even if he doesn’t have any toys to munch on, it’s his hands that eventually end up there. So yes, my little baby was touching the grocery cart handle, then putting his hands in his mouth and repeating this for the entire grocery “adventure”. I just tried to keep my mantra in mind; he’s building his immunities, right?

Well, it turns out that my senses were right! There was something nasty lingering on that grocery cart. That day he developed a small blister by his mouth, which eventually burst and turned red, only to get bigger over the course of the weekend. But seeing as we were on another road trip, going to my friend Jamie’s wedding, we weren’t in a position to get his face checked out. To make us first-time parents feel a bit better, my friend Leslie, who was also at the wedding and is a nurse, looked at his face and wasn’t too concerned. She suggested it could be impetigo and that we should see a doctor when we got back to Ottawa. So, today Daddy and Niko (yes, Daddy became inflicted as well) headed to the doctor’s office where they were both diagnosed with … impetigo! Anyway, they’ve been prescribed this antibacterial cream and hopefully it will do the trick, because Niko’s supposed to go to two birthday parties this weekend, and unless this is clear he won’t be able to go…

Note: It’s now imperative that I keep Niko’s nails short: despite the qualms I have about cutting them! Out of necessity I must keep them trimmed. (Actually, I just clipped them yesterday, so kudos to me!) The reason for the necessity of this maintenance is that impetigo is highly contagious and can spread to openings in the skin, like the ones that sometimes happen when he scratches his face because his nails are too long!

3 Responses to "It’s Impetigo, Baby"

I don’t know if this will make you feel better or worse, but it wasn’t likely the grocery cart that gave N the impetigo. The incubation period is 1 – 3 days, so it wouldn’t have shown up so quickly. If you’re worried, though, a quick wipe of the handle with a baby wipe should take care of it for next time!

Funny, but my mom gave me the exact same advice! I just can’t think of where else he could have picked it up…?? As for the baby wipes, I think they may become a permanent fixture in my purse. At this rate, I may be needing a bigger purse sooner than later 🙂

[…] – Niko’s bout if impetigo seems to be clearing up nicely. Thank […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

