Parenting 2.0

Grocery Cart Baby

Posted on: May 28, 2010

Sometimes I think that Niko’s getting too big for his car seat. To date, every time he’s gone grocery shopping he’s been carted around with his car seat (securely?) balancing on the grocery cart. I see lots of other parents doing it this way, so it must be safe, right? Well, today Niko hit a grocery cart milestone! Pulling into the parking lot I began wondering if he was big enough to actually sit on his own in the cart. I mean he sits unassisted at home for a good half hour playing with toys, although he’s surrounded by pillows and my (or Borys’) watchful eye is ever present. So, based on his ability to sit up on his own, and seeing as he seems to be getting too big for the car seat, we went for it.

I noticed today that grocery cart safety has actually improved since I was small enough to sit in them – surprise, surprise. (I mean all things have become über safe, these days. It was just last week my nine year old niece, who’s closer to ten than nine, proudly told me she was now allowed to sit in the front of the car… Anyway, I digress.) So, the grocery cart we were using had a safety belt and everything, what could be better? As soon as the little N Man was securely buckled in and I started pushing, he looked up at me with a curious smile and then was just happy all around, checking out the world from this new perspective.

Overall the experience went really well. But, you know when you go the grocery store to get just a few things, and then an hour later end up with a full grocery cart? Well, today happened to be one of those days. And by then end of that hour Niko was ready to get the heck out of that cart. As I was doing self-checkout (the regular lines were too long!), he arched his back and hurt it on the steel beam behind him. So a bout of crying ensued, while I was getting the cheese price checked: I swear it was on sale, but didn’t come up that way. Turns out, it was the No Name cheese and Mommy must have been distracted (although I can’t imagine why?) and thought it was the Black Diamond. Anyway, with some back rubbing (thank goodness for the powers of the Single Handed Superwoman!) and coos of encouragement, Niko managed to (somewhat) chill until the checkout horror was over, and then we hightailed it out of there. Once secured in his car seat and not even a minute on the road, he was TKO. Yup, grocery time was infringing on nap time! Poor little tyke!

Click to support my blog

1 Response to "Grocery Cart Baby"

[…] choice. This is mine and Niko’s reality right now. Last Friday the Little N Man and I had an adventure at the grocery store: the adventurous part being that he got to sit in the grocery cart like a big boy for the first […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

