Parenting 2.0

Daddy’s New Recipe

Posted on: May 4, 2010

It’s increasingly challenging to get the Little N Man to eat – it used to be that he resisted just meat, but now he’s putting up a fuss with veggies too. Oy! While Borys was taking care of Niko this past weekend, he too came face to face with the twice daily challenges of getting him to slurp down his lunch and supper. Breakfast is easy: cereal and fruit and he likes them both. But lunch and dinner are a different story, and whoever’s doing the feeding is faced with Niko’s perpetual head turning, pursed lip line, continual grunting and the occasional smile when he realizes you aren’t going to force feed him (not that that was ever an option). But I do press the spoon right up to his lips trying to entice a bite, only to have the food get sloshed all over his cheeks and chin, or up his nose as he rapidly moves his head from side to side.

Anyway, when I was away, Borys got a taste of this side of our son. I had tried to explain it to him, but there is something about experiencing things first hand that really forces you to understand the gravity of the situation; it’s one thing to hear about it, and another to experience it. When I got home this was one of the reports I received from Daddy Daycare:

Borys: Man, it really is tough to get the little guy to eat sometimes.

Me: I know! That’s what I’ve been talking about.

B: Like he doesn’t want to eat squash or anything. (Squash used to be his favourite.)

Me: I know…

B: So you know what I did?

Me: What?

B: I just mixed all his food together: squash, green beans, potatoes and bananas.

Me: And bananas?  Eww… What?

B: And you know what? He actually ate it all. It seemed he could tell it was different, but the bananas just overpowered the veggies and I figured it was better for him to eat it this way, than not to eat at all. At least he was getting his nutrients.

OK, good on you Daddy for thinking about the health of our son and creatively (albeit disgustingly) trying to get him to gobble up his food. And it did w0rk, so kudos. But did I say ewww? Cuz, EWW!

Anyway, today at lunch we were back at it. Borys at work, me at home and Baby Niko vehemently refusing his veggies. So, what did I resort to? Daddy’s new recipe of course. Truth be told, I was a little repulsed when I was mixing it up, because it looked an awful brown colour and didn’t really smell too good, but Niko did take a few bites. Maybe in total he ate about half of what I had taken out for him, which is better than what he was eating before the mix came in to play.  Once he started in with the refusing again, I chucked it. But not before trying it myself, and you know what? It wasn’t half bad.

3 Responses to "Daddy’s New Recipe"

Alli, do not worry..:) Children have very strange taste in food. Little boy my friend, ate the meat mixed with sweet fruit juice..:) When it looked, it did me sick…:( This little baby is now 30 years ! He grew very high and handsome man..! Now he is the father and has a 4 – month old daughter…:))

right…and they all grow up to have healthy appetites – as our handyman said yesterday “Just wait ’til he’s a teenager, and he’ll be eating you out of house and home!”

Update: He ate meat tonite. Turkey and Sweet Potatoe (store bought!) But I was so excited. But you know what? After that he refused his cereal. Babies are weird! 🙂

[…] It’s been a long time since I’ve written about baby food. Whereas it once was all consuming, as of late the real […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

