Parenting 2.0

It’s a Meat Holiday!

Posted on: April 24, 2010

What’s the biggest parenting challenge since having the Little N Man? Feeding him meat! Well no, actually, it was probably the first two weeks of his life when he did his time on the inside (otherwise known as the NICU). But second to that – it’s currently happening and it has to do with meat and alternatives. They say (according to the guide given to me by the public health nurse) he should be having 2- 4 tbsps of meat and alternatives a day. But this is the result: he gags on egg yolks, develops a rash with sole, screeches, gags and pukes on chicken – not to mention holds it in his open mouth without swallowing, letting the saliva collect, until it all just naturally sloshes into his bib, or onto his clothes, or onto the floor. And during all these mishaps he continually wipes his tiny little baby hand over his mouth, into his hair, getting food up his nose and into his eyebrows. And sometimes I won’t find it caked there until I see him in a different light, say when we are out and about at a friend’s house.

Anyway, there is this pressure (perhaps self-induced) to get him eating these protein bits! In talking with my friend Laura last night, she calmed me down. Her son (who is almost a year and a half) is a very finicky eater. She has had lots of chats with her pediatrician about it, and he has assured her that every baby will develop in their own time. She also went on to say that the texture of meat is really hard to get used to. So it might not be so much the flavour but the grittiness (or however you want to describe the texture). Our solution then? We’re taking a meat holiday! Goodbye gagging, goodbye saliva collecting chicken, hello eating is enjoyable again! How long will this holiday last? I’d say a week usually does a body good, right? So for now I will continue to hone my culinary skills, but solely as a vegetarian baby chef.

Click to support my blog

6 Responses to "It’s a Meat Holiday!"

My suggestion is to try the Gerber baby foods…warm it a bit in the micro( 5-6 sec) and mix with the same make of carrots, or other veggie…a little pear for dessert.The fruit is also good mixed in with cereal;The pre prepared baby foods are also worth a try. My children all grew up fine with great appetites. I tried making my own baby food for the first 3 children…none liked it. With # 4 I saved myself the anguish and went right to the grocery store!

well it’s definitely a learning process…
for now I’m sticking with my own purees (well for the most part). I’ll keep you posted……. XO

..time on the inside.. ahahaha your hilarious.. this blog is awesome..

PS: log on skype one of these days !

thanks bro.
i’m glad I was pro-active! So nice to chat with you this AM (or PM) depending on your perspective really – or you could say the difference between a cup of coffee and a glass o’wine

[…] increasingly challenging to get the Little N Man to eat – it used to be that he resisted just meat, but now he’s putting up a fuss with veggies too. Oy! While Borys was taking care of Niko […]

[…] flavour he likes he is more likely to try (albeit perhaps unknowingly) any other Heinz delicacies (even meat) that I place in front […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

