Parenting 2.0

The Hills and Valleys of Making Your Own Baby Food

Posted on: April 22, 2010

Who knew that making your own baby food could be filled with so many emotional hills and valleys? I mean I get excited about making the food, and trying the new recipes (hills), then I try them and they often don’t turn out as planned (valleys): lumpy carrots, too much pepper… But to be fair, the recipe called for it. Yes, the baby food recipe called for a teaspoon of pepper! (How was I to know that pepper mill pepper is more potent than the already crushed kind? Anyway, the dish was way too spicy, even for me. So what did I do? Repeat the recipe (hill) sans pepper and blend the whole shebang together: pepper-version with non-pepper-version, only to find that it was still too spicy (valley). Then after three days of a giant pot of green and too peppery slop sitting in my fridge I finally chucked it (valley).

Niko’s supposed to be eating meat and alternatives. So I found an interesting baby recipe for sole (hill), but when he tried it he developed a rash, twice (valley). Yesterday I resorted to store bought baby food (hill/valley – I’m not sure where to classify that one). I was worried he wasn’t getting enough  meat and alternatives; so I stocked up on Heinz Chicken and Rice, etc. And when he tried it? He shrieked like I have never heard before, and not in a good way (valley). I forced a second taste on him and again shrieking! (And again, valley). After the shrieking I tried it too, and I had to agree: blech! But how am I supposed to get him to eat  meat and alternatives if he doesn’t like the store bought kind (although we only tried one so far), won’t eat egg yolks, is showing signs of allergy for sole, and blah blah blah (valley).

Then today, I had renewed confidence (hill). I tried another baby food experiment (hill): Chicken with Apple and Sweet Potato. Sounds good right (hill)? I tried it, and it tasted good (hill). But when his highness tasted it at lunch, he ended up gagging (valley). Somehow I need to get him to eat meat… Niko doesn’t know it yet, but he will be revisiting Chicken, Apple and Sweet Potato for supper tonight (hill/valley?), but he’s going to try it on an emptier stomach: pre-cereal, pre-fruit. Fingers crossed that round two goes better than the first one!

12 Responses to "The Hills and Valleys of Making Your Own Baby Food"

…uff
I’m keeping my fingers crossed ! Good luck !
I hope that it will be a “hill”…:)

well…he ate it! (hill)
then he ate the rest of his dinner too (hill)
then he puked it up, twice about a half hour later (valley)
FUN……………….

I have a Chicken Casserole recipe that my 3yr old loved (used to mush it up for her, now she eats as it comes), will dig it out for you if you’re interested?? Hoping the 5mth old asleep on my knee doesn’t take me down in to too many valleys… not hopeful!!

Hi Elisa, I AM interested! That would be great. Thank you.

5 months old – that’s a fun age. And sleeping – that’s fun too 🙂

[…] What’s been my biggest stress since having the Little N Man in my life? Feeding him meat! Actually, it was probably the first two weeks of his life when he did his time on the inside […]

[…] OK, so Niko doesn’t like all foods, but he’s definitely in to some: squash, cereal, bananas, yogurt, avocado, all fruits, etc. […]

[…] It’s increasingly challenging to get the Little N Man to eat – it used to be that he resisted just meat, but now he’s […]

[…] labeled and dated inside Ziploc freezer bags. Yes, every time I open my freezer I am haunted by the issues I used to face with making baby food, and actually getting Niko to eat. One thing hasn’t changed though: Niko still loves squash, whether it’s the homemade or […]

[…] the real estate roller coaster (we’re moving this week!), and surviving the tribulations of making my own baby food (I sort of lost that battle), just to name a […]

Good luck! I need to branch out with my baby food making and find some fun recipes for B to try also.

I had my heart into making the babyfood, but the little N man just wouldn’t eat it! So…Heinz it is, and he seems to be liking it and growing well…

There are some good baby food recipes on

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

Good luck!

[…] parenting is feeding. First it’s: Will I breastfeed or formula feed? Then it’s: Will I make my own baby food or buy store bought? And I suppose food related questions will continue to persist from here on in. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

