Parenting 2.0

Yes, It is a Problem!

Posted on: April 14, 2010

Prada. Fendi. Coach. Louis Vuitton. Roots.

What do the above have in common? They make handbags! And while the first four may be on many women’s wish lists, my heart has always been after the last one. Maybe it’s because I’m a Canadian gal, but I have always salivated over that soft Italian leather used in making Roots handbags. I just love it. I go into the store and just look and dream and hope. That was, until a couple of days ago. I decided to put all the looking and dreaming and hoping aside and just bite the bullet and buy one. After all, I am a 32 year old woman. I’ve wanted one of these purses forever. So why the heck not? I deserve it, right? It’s not like I splurge all the time. Yup, I had made up my mind and Borys was 100% behind me (good man that he is): “You want it? Go buy it!” Yes! Finally I would have my very own Canadian made, Italian leather, Roots handbag. And seeing as I had been browsing in the store last week I knew exactly which one I wanted.

So, post swimming lessons, the Little N man was TKO and off to the mall we went. I made a beeline to Roots, found the purse, admired it over my shoulder for about ten minutes and then went for it. Yup, I am now the proud owner of my dream purse!

With my purse purchase in the bag, we went home. I fed Little Niko, he went for a nap and then I had time to admire and reconnect with my brand new purse. I pulled it out of the bag, loving the feel of the leather, strapped it over my should and went to take a look in the mirror. When to my horror I discovered it still had the security tag fastened to the zipper?! What!? Grr…Now I had to make a return trip to the mall (which isn’t my favourite place to begin with) and get the tag snapped off. Later that night I ventured out, back the mall, and into the Roots store and this is what unfolded.

Sales Clerk: Hi, welcome to Roots. How can I help you?

Me: I bought a purse here today but the girl forgot to remove the security tags.

SC: Do you have your receipt?

Me: Yes.

SC: Ok let me see it.

Me: Ok.

SC: Ok, no problem then. (Then she proceeded to undo the tag, sneeze twice on my bag and hand it back to me with a smile!).

I just took the purse and got the heck out there. All the while thinking, “No problem? That’s all she had to say!” How about, “I’m sorry for the inconvenience!” No Problem? Well yes it was a problem!  I had to hike my butt back to the mall to get this tag off. Yes, that is a problem! Grrr. I was fuming. But why didn’t I say that to her? To be fair, I was in recovery mode from her sneezing on my dream purse. I mean I barely wanted to touch it for a few seconds. So I just stuffed it back in my shopping bag.

But I wish I would have said something. I guess that’s why they say Hindsight is 20/20.


3 Responses to "Yes, It is a Problem!"

Alli.. you have a beautiful bag..! I really like this bag…:)) It’s really good buy !..:)

Thanks Malgorzata!
Mine is exactly the same design as the picture but a little different in colour. And so far…three days in…I’m loving it! So worth it! 🙂

[…] reminded me that we can’t shield him from everything. True, true. But I was still annoyed and wondering why I didn’t speak up, again? I mean babies can’t speak up for themselves, so the parents are left to do it. I just […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

