Parenting 2.0

On the Move

Posted on: April 13, 2010

We’re moving! Well, at least we’ve got the process started. We’re going to look at our first place tomorrow night and we’ve even got a real estate agent to help us along the way. Now we just need to decide what we want. Ideally: four bedrooms, a fenced yard, a garage, a finished basement, a relatively quiet street, preferably in Ottawa (as opposed to suburbia hell). Oh, and move in ready, it has to be move in ready. We are not signing on for a remodeling gig here.

So, it’s exciting. We’re excited. But, we also have to think about what else we will consider if we can’t get everything on our ideal list. So I guess…three bedrooms, no garage, a partially finished basement? Hmm… Ideally, I just want the ideal. But three bedrooms wouldn’t be so bad, especially if the basement was finished because then we could get a pull-out for guests. It would be nice if this finished basement was finished with a full bathroom.

And we want a place that will be good for Niko. Most likely we’ll be living in this house for a while – so basically it has to suit the needs of everyone in our family. Poodle included. Time will tell on where this adventure takes us. But like I said, we’re looking at our first place tomorrow! And judging from the pictures it’s beautiful inside! But, it’s only got three bedrooms, it’s on a busy street and it’s a semi-detached. I don’t recall have busy or semi on either my ideal or somewhat ideal list – so I don’t know. But it is in my absolute FAVOURITE neighbourhood in Ottawa, so that goes a long way. But I just don’t think we can settle for a busy street – too much exhaust might be exhausting after a while.

Of course when I saw this place online, I wanted to buy it right away. But then my father-in-law came over and in his words of wisdom and with a sparkle in his eye, said very slowly “Dont rush. Don’t rush.” Yes I know this is wise. And I don’t want to settle for anything that I’m not happy with. But you know I’ve got this instant gratification personality trait, that does sort of force me to do things quickly at times. I just have to remmeber that this is major purchase. The biggest one I’ve ever made. So I will keep those words in mind. Besides, with Borys as my buying partner, there’s no way we’ll be rushing into anything. It’s sort of like a ying and yang combo really.

7 Responses to "On the Move"

[…] Is this the environment where I want Niko to grow up? No. Is this area ideal for my dog’s paws? No. I think it might be time to move. […]

Cool beans !

🙂 I’ll keep you posted on the deets!

[…] my last post I mentioned that I had little time because the real estate wheels were turning. And wow, they sure do turn quickly here in Ottawa. After only one day on the market, our place has […]

[…] a lot of stress, and I’m trying to internalize the meaning of lyrics. I guess that comes with selling your house privately: we’re our own rookie agents, and dealing with all the loose ends that come along […]

[…] sold privately), and we have bought our new home and move in in about two weeks!!! A few weeks ago, I described what we wanted in a new home, and for the most part we got it. After looking at many, many places, I realized and […]

[…] is a lot bigger than the condo we owned before, and you can just tell it’s different here. We’re in a neighbourhood now, with kids who play on the street and a street that’s relatively quiet: Yah for Niko. One […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

