Parenting 2.0

Breastfeeding: How Long!?

Posted on: April 12, 2010

*Breastfeeding Survey* It’s anonymous and takes only a second. (See survey at the bottom of this post.) Thanks!

“Breast is Best”! This message is in your face as a new mother, and there’s a lot of pressure to breastfeed. I was actually surprised to find out that my grandmother who had five kids didn’t breastfeed a single one of them. She told me this when we visited her this winter. I just sort of assumed that most people breastfed back in those days. But she went on to say that it just wasn’t popular, and actually it was the poorer people who breastfed because they couldn’t afford formula. Wow. Times certainly have changed. I mean it’s just so trendy now! Maybe too trendy?

I know there are lots of benefits to breastfeeding and I am breastfeeding, but I have seen friends who for whatever reason formula fed their babies and some of them were made to feel guilty – be it by nurses, or self-inflicted or societal pressures. But you know what? All those babies from back in the day when breastfeeding was on the outs, are OK! I mean look at my mom and her brothers and sisters – none of them were breastfed and they all lived to tell the tale.

What I’m wondering is, how long will I continue to breastfeed? I mean the Little N Man has two teeth now, and thankfully as of yet they haven’t inflicted any damage. But how much longer will we go on like this? Ontario Public Health nurses recommend breastfeeding for six months, and he’s almost seven. But still there seems to be this societal pressure to keep going – to forge forward until pre-school. OK that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but I do here of it. And to be honest I’m sort of torn. I like breastfeeding him – it’s convenient, it’s bonding and it’s free. But, that means he also relies on my physical presence to eat. Maybe that’s not such a bad thing. I’m just curious about other mothers. Did you breastfeed or not? And if you did, for how long?

4 Responses to "Breastfeeding: How Long!?"

First, congrats for having breastfed for this long! I always told myself that if I could make it to six months, I’d be happy – and lo and behold, we kept on chugging up until my son was a little over a year. You’re right, it’s just so easy once you get the hang of it. But it’s a huge sacrifice for the mom, especially since pumping never really worked for me. You’ll know when the time is right to wean. When I finally did it, I realized my son was more than ready – it was just my hesitation that prolonged it!

Thanks for visiting and thanks for the comment. For now we are just chugging along as well…so time will tell I guess. 🙂

[…] Despite all my qualms about breastfeeding, after 10 months it seems to have come to a natural end for me and Niko. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy I […]

I just stumbled on your blog (I’m new to the scene) but I am also struggling with weaning. My son naturally cycled out after 10 months but things are going so smoothly with my daughter that I am not sure how or when to “cut it off” (she is 11 months now)…and she has SIX teeth – yikes!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

