Parenting 2.0

Szczęśliwej Wielkanocy!

Posted on: April 4, 2010

Three vodka shooters down the hatch by 9 am, and (although there were some similarities) I couldn’t help but notice the obvious differences between celebrating Easter with my future in-laws and the traditions that I grew up with. I clearly (or by that point, maybe not so clearly…) remember thinking, “Wow, this is so different from Easter with my family.” That was probably about ten years ago, and I’m a big believer of When in Rome, but this tradition was a bit hard to swallow – literally. Of course, I was trying to make a good impression, seeing as it was our first Easter together, so with a smile, down the hatch with all that vodka. (Sort of like the time I tried to impress the in-laws by eating almost a full plate of steak tartar, but that’s another story.)

Now, it’s a decade later and I still don’t think I’ve mastered the art of shooting vodka correctly. Apparently you’re not supposed to actually taste it: just open up, throw it in, and swallow. My version, however, is often followed up by a whole body shiver, eyes closed tightly and “blech”. Since that first Easter I’ve stopped trying to impress my in-laws (so much) and resign myself to maybe half a vodka shooter when the time comes – just for tradition’s sake.

As far as Easter goes, on Borys’ side the major thing is a traditional Polish breakfast: sausages, hard boiled eggs, bread, cheese, pickles, pickled beets, pickled mushrooms, pickled etc. And beyond breakfast and vodka, there’s Egg Wars: basically we all adopt a hard boiled egg (died with onion peels) and then go head to head trying to smash our opponent’s egg. Whoever is left standing with at least one end of their egg uncracked is the winner.

Now, bring on Egg Wars, bring on the sunshine (forecast 25 today!), bring on the pickled herring, and bring on the Easter fun. Happy Easter everyone. Na zdrowie!

3 Responses to "Szczęśliwej Wielkanocy!"

Great photo of 2 generations with blue eyes!

hey yah, I didn’t notice that, but they’re pretty much the same colour. neato.

[…] Niko Videos Szczęśliwej Wielkanocy! […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

