Parenting 2.0

Campfire Squash

Posted on: March 22, 2010

There’s nothing like the smell and taste of campfire food. I love camping, and after a day of portaging a meal cooked over the campfire really hits the spot. But in the comfort of my own home, as I sit here, with the campfire smell wafting around me, saturating my clothing and furniture, I begin to wonder if I should rethink making my own baby food.

Rewind to about two hours ago. There I was going about my morning, drinking coffee and getting ready to make squash for little Niko. Have I ever bought squash before? No. I don’t think I’ve ever even cooked with one, but when the public health guide for making baby food recommends squash, I was motivated to buy squash.

People ask me: why are you making your own baby food? Which has got me thinking: why am I? I have come up with two solid answers: 1) This way I know exactly what he is eating. 2) The recipes are so simple: wash, cut, steam, blend, (add water if desired), and serve. It helps to build up my culinary confidence: at least that’s what I thought, up until this campfire squash incident. Let me just preface this by saying, there was no real fire (although maybe there could have been if more time would have passed…).

So there I was, dicing up a butternut squash – doing the best I could with it, seeing as I had never cut one up before – and feeling pretty good about myself for making Niko’s food from scratch. Once diced, I popped it in the steamer, added some water to the pot below and let the boiling water do its work. After a few minutes I realized it was not quite soft enough so timed it for a few more. Well, those minutes ticked on and I was in the other room with Niko when I smelled a distinct burning odor. Who knew you had to add so much water for steaming?! I’ve steamed a lot of veggies in my time and never run out of water, but this squash seemed to have absorbed some of it and boiled the rest away. By the time I got to the pot, the squash was smoking (black smoke!), and the base of my pot, which once held what I thought was enough water, was completely charred! Yikes. Anyway, once it had cooled down, I tasted the squash – not bad for a campfire, but I was cooking on my STOVE!

Now I just can’t bring myself to feed this version of the squash to Niko. His taste buds will have to wait for the pleasures that are squash until our next grocery day. And lesson learned: the more water you add for steaming the better, and the safer. Now I just have to decide: can I bring myself to eat this campfire version?

8 Responses to "Campfire Squash"

[…] them, blending them, freezing them, etc. Yes, that’s right, I wrote getting excited about making baby food. As I was cooking them up and listening to the radio, that song Home For a Rest came on, and then […]

I am happy that you are trying to make your own babyfood! For the people thaty ask “why” I would answer with my own question, “Do you eat all of your food from a can or jar?”

You can actually just seed the squash and put in microwave with the peel on. I prefer to bake them though, I find that it has more flavour!

Let me know if you need some recipes! Also, this is the site I was talking about….www.wholesomebabyfood.com

great blog!

thanks for the link Elvira!
i never even thought of baking the veggies…hmm…there’s some “food” for thought… 🙂

mmm…smoked squash sounds like a southern dish! This is just 1 of the food escapades you will encounter! Do not give up…there are many good “fresh ” baby food on line.

smoked squash – it’s real “easy”
maybe i can make at the cottage this summer… 🙂
don’t worry this has dissuaded me from carrying on with my own recipes…

[…] for Baby Niko, I have expanded and improved my culinary skill set since the days of Campfire Squash. Yes, I’ve stepped up my domestic game a notch and my repertoire now includes: skinning […]

[…] does a body good, right? So for now I will continue to hone my culinary skills, but solely as a vegetarian baby […]

[…] food, and actually getting Niko to eat. One thing hasn’t changed though: Niko still loves squash, whether it’s the homemade or store bought kind. Squash has become a go to food of sorts and […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

