Parenting 2.0

ShamRock-A-Bye-Baby

Posted on: March 17, 2010

“Day to day nothing’s different, but five years later everything’s changed.”

I’m not sure where I picked up that quote, but its sentiments rang true for me this morning as I was getting excited about making sweet potatoes for Niko – peeling them, boiling them, blending them, freezing them, etc. Yes, that’s right, I wrote getting excited about making baby food. As I was cooking them up and listening to the radio, that song Home For a Rest came on, and then it donned on me: it’s St. Patty’s Day.

Not only is it St. Patty’s Day, but my bestie from uni, Jen, and her daughter Mya are coming to town today. She called a couple of days ago and because she’s on March Break, she decided to take a mommy-daughter roadie all the way to O-town. Seeing as Jen’s coming, it got me thinking about the many times that she and I have spent St. Patrick’s day together. My, how thing’s certainly have changed from us decking ourselves out completely in green, hitting the market (area of bars in downtown Ottawa) and guzzling green barley pops to our hearts’ content – not to mention her daring me to show my shamrock tattoo to just about everyone. This was all back in the pre-Borys days of course, so I guess it’s been a bit longer than the five years mentioned in the quote, but you get the idea.

Man, how thing’s have changed – from dancing leprechauns to excitement over pureed sweet potatoes. But despite the the change – the excitement is still there, and that’s a good thing, it’s just different.

2 Responses to "ShamRock-A-Bye-Baby"

[…] way too mature for such an outfit.  The karate gi is on loan from my karate build-a-bear (thanks Jenny and Mya).  From the looks of the karate pics, Niko will be ready to start sparring very soon.  I think he […]

[…] Niko Videos ShamRock-A-Bye-Baby […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

