Parenting 2.0

Culinary Kudos

Posted on: February 26, 2010

I roasted a chicken!

I made chicken soup from scratch!

And they both received seals of approval from all buds who tasted them!

Note the exclamation points after each of the above statements. They are there for a reason, for cooking really isn’t in my regular repertoire of daily activities and thus deserves the exclamation kudos.  But this week with a special on at Loblaws, – 5$ for a whole chicken – I couldn’t resist.

I have mentioned before what type of housewife I am, and on most days this just doesn’t guarantee a hot meal ticket. I know some stay at home parents are all about the cooking, but I for one, do not fit into this category. I don’t particularly enjoy it, and furthermore find it hard to coordinate a meal while little N is lingering in the background. But seriously, cooking this chicken and making this soup was, as my mother so often says, “really easy” – thanks in part to her long distance phone guidance: Supercook Extraordinaire just a phone call away. (Although if there is a gene for this, I don’t seem to have inherited it.) One thing’s for sure, these bouts of spontaneous cooking have helped to build my culinary confidence and succeeded in providing me with a few moments of domestic glory!

Borys: Who are you and what have you done with my wife?

Me: There are many facets to my personality, dear. Some smaller than others, and some so small you rarely see them, but surprise surprise, they are there!

Borys: I like it!

8 Responses to "Culinary Kudos"

[…] him, the kind that keeps the bathrooms clean, the kind that loves my husband and our son (but just doesn’t always prepare dinner for the former of the two…), the kind that has maintained being in a book club and going to […]

[…] a whole new single-handed set of skills. Things that in the past had always required two hands (cooking, laundry, everything…), can now, for the most part, be completed quite adeptly single-handed. […]

[…] too difficult (boil/steam vegetables, blend, add water and serve – definitely within my range of capability), and something about cooking Niko’s food appeals to […]

[…] are so simple: wash, cut, steam, blend, (add water if desired), and serve. It helps to build up my culinary confidence: at least that’s what I thought up until this campfire squash incident. Let me just preface […]

[…] for Baby Niko, I have expanded and improved my culinary skill set since the days of Campfire Squash. Yes, I’ve stepped up my domestic game a notch and my […]

[…] last? I’d say a week usually does a body good, right? So for now I will continue to hone my culinary skills, but solely as a vegetarian baby […]

[…] baker I am not. While I AM honing my culinary skills, it’s more in the cooking department than the baking one. Anyway, seeing as it was […]

[…] been experimenting with cooking. This week on the menu? Chicken Club Salad, courtesy of my culinary guide extraordinaire, Betty […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

