Parenting 2.0

Sunglasses for Baby

Posted on: February 18, 2010

The other day as Borys and I were walking with Niko and Frasier, Niko secured on Daddy’s chest in the Baby Bjorn, I found myself squinting into the sun and thinking it would be great if Niko had a pair of baby sunglasses. Now, recent studies claim that “baby brain” or “mommy brain” (the tendency for pregnant women and new mothers to easily forget) really doesn’t exist. But you know what? I beg to differ. Most women I talk to about this seem to think that at some point during their pregnancy or during motherhood they have indeed suffered bouts of  “baby brain”.  Anyway, I digress…

As I was thinking about how great it would be to own baby sunglasses, I realized that Niko actually already had a pair – another wonderful hand-me-down from his cousin John Russell (and a good example of me being able to claim “baby brain” to excuse my forgetfulness). For it wasn’t until I realized he needed them that I realized we had them! Of course when you’re out and about in the sun, it’s a little too late for that memory of be of use, especially considering I had no idea what “safe place” I had put them in. After returning home and going through a few possible “safe places” I hit the jackpot and found the shades!

Today my entourage and I headed out again, but not before I remembered about the Baby Banz, as they are called. I put them on Niko while we were still inside, just to test them out and his reaction was hilarious! He was moving his head all around, quickly from left to right, looking up and down, rapidly checking things out in this new darker world (and I caught a moment – albeit not the best one – of it on video). Anyway, he seemed to tolerate them pretty well, so I bundled him up and away we went. I happened to bring along my digital camera as I wanted to take some pics for a project I am working on for my nieces and nephew, and the camera also afforded me the ability to check up on my little guy who is front facing in the carrier and completely out of my view: by snapping a quick picture I could easily see what he was up to. Good thing I had the camera, because at one point I noticed the Baby Banz were, let’s just say slightly askew, as you can see in the accompanying picture below!

Note to self: Next time we bust out the sunglasses for Niko, strap them on a little tighter Mom!

1 Response to "Sunglasses for Baby"

[…] seat cover, a Baby Bjorn, a mini snowsuit (with token dangling mittens on a string), baby blankets, Baby Banz, and a diaper bag filled to the brim, not to mention, place mats, a newspaper, reusable grocery […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

