Parenting 2.0

Baby Fish

Posted on: February 16, 2010

We’ve got a little fish on our hands! Today Niko and I started baby and Mommy swimming lessons, with Traci and Eli. The lesson lasted half an hour and to get there on time, with one errand thrown in beforehand we left our house an hour before it started. I find anything with a baby takes longer – it’s such a process – but if I give myself enough (or more than enough) time the stress levels go way down.

All in all the lesson was a great experience, despite the fact that Niko cried when he first felt the water, but who could blame him? Up until now the only water he’s really been exposed to is the warmth of a bath. Anyway, once he acclimatized and I put on and used my best “let’s be happy and enjoy this” face and voice, he was good to go. He floated on his back with his ears in, he was on his tummy with his chin in and then we got to end off our lesson in the hot tub where the instructor encouraged us to dunk the babies – if we felt comfortable. I remembered from my lifeguarding days that this was encouraged for babies, that apparently they don’t mind it, and it helps them to really get used to water. So, after a round of Ring Around the Rosie we all fell down, and Niko was completely submerged and back up in a second. And how did her react, you may wonder? Like it was no big deal! He just blinked back the water from his eyes a few times in a row and we continued on our merry way. I figure if he does one good dunking per lesson then he will really get used to the water – and who knows maybe we’ve got a mini Michael Phelps in the making!

With registering for swimming lessons followed the purchase of a teeny tiny bathing suit for little Niko. When I first looked the only one I could find him was for 12 month olds, although post purchase I found another one that was for 6 – 12 months so picked it up as well – I mean I just have tonnes of time to make returns, right? It turns out that I went with the bigger size anyway, because then he has a little room to grow, and it didn’t appear that the shorts were swimming on him too badly.

10 Responses to "Baby Fish"

reminds me of the good old rec centre days. question is … did niko’s swimming place have the same horrible stuff on the ceiling and the pervasive smell of chemicals that I grew to love …

hahahhaha – seriously when I read about the horrible stuff in the ceiling I did a real live LOL 😉 I will have to look for that next time – you know, I think that was actually fire-proof material, but as a young swimmer in there I thought it was huge chunks of dust and awaited in fear for the chunk to fall down on me!

Chemical smell? CHECK!
Too hot in the changeroom? CHECK!
Swimsuits that reek of chlorine, post swim? CHECK

[…] year 2010 I find myself to be the kind that, loves spending time with my son Niko, the kind that tries to stimulate him on a daily basis, the kind that changes about seven diapers a day – not to mention single-handedly doing all […]

[…] The pics are of Niko is his first swimsuit on his way to his second swimming lesson. Also, they illustrate my attempt at smoothing out the process by getting him into his suit before […]

[…] Showering after swimming lessons. Washing Little N’s hair and rinsing him […]

[…] knows and barley cereal) adds a whole new dimension to the process of getting ready. Niko had his swimming lesson today and I woke him (which I hate to do in the first place) with what I thought was enough time to […]

[…] What to do with a three year old and a six month old? Swimming of course! Niko’s been practicing his floats and was dying to show them off to his new friend Mya. So off to the pool we went for Niko’s […]

[…] post swimming lessons, the Little N man was TKO and off to the mall we headed. I made a beeline to the Roots handbag […]

[…] or Alice the Camel. A lot of people in the class commented on how much he has changed since our first lesson (which was in mid. February). The most constructive piece of criticism he got on his report card […]

[…] countless get togethers, pizza lunches, walks, telephone counseling sessions, laughs, swim lessons, and milestones, we have come the end of an era. That’s right. My friend Traci, who’s […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

