Parenting 2.0

Missing Shoe and Baby Wipeout on Rideau Canal

Posted on: February 7, 2010

Quite a few years back, when my sister Marion had only one child, she and her fam – including my mom – came to Ottawa for a weekend of Winterlude.  Now, if someone comes up for Winterlude it is imperative that they make the trek to the Rideau Canal – the world’s largest outdoor skating rink – don a pair of skates and make a go of the somewhat bumpy surface. Seeing as Audra was just a wee babe, she remained snugly in her stroller while Marion and John Paul took turns pushing her on their skates down the canal. And seeing as they were here on a weekend, the canal was probably as jam packed as the accompanying picture shows.

Anyway, we had a great time skating: well most of us did. At one point I looked over my shoulder to check on my sis only to see that she had taken a spill with wee Audra! Yes, picture a three wheel stroller down for the count! Basically Audra was left looking skyward and the stroller had been tipped and landed by the time I saw it: I can only imagine how easy this would actually be to do, while pushing a stroller in ice skates! Thankfully everyone was OK, and we just righted the stroller and continued on our trek down the canal and back again.

By the time we made our loop and were seated on the side, putting on our shoes I came to realize that mysteriously one of my shoes had disappeared! Well maybe not so mysteriously, seeing as they were camping out in the base of the stroller: that was until the stroller tipped I am sure! So, I was left with only one shoe in the middle of winter and we still had to walk back to my apartment on Stewart St. – a good 15-20 minute jaunt. “I saw your shoe way down there!”, said one onlooker when he realized that I was wearing only one! But we figured that shoe was a lost cause – the stroller had tipped probably over an hour ago and who’s to say where that shoe could have been shuffled off to. Marion had the innovative idea of me donning a diaper over my sock, and then a plastic bag to boot! And I did! What a sight my footwear made for the walk home – just following my ever handy advice of fashion before comfort!

Little Niko, Baby Lena, Heather and I are planning to make the trek down to the canal sometime this week – weather pending. Winterlude has started and I am ready for a Beaver Tail! As I reminisce about the lovely day – baby tipping and shoeless – I spent enjoying the Ottawa winter about 10 years ago, I will remember to be vigilant of my weight distribution as I push Niko’s stroller! Afterall, even though Audra survived sans a scratch on her, ideally this is not the way I want Niko’s first canal experience to end up!

1 Response to "Missing Shoe and Baby Wipeout on Rideau Canal"

[…] no wipeouts! Just one close call, that’s […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

