Parenting 2.0

Longer Days, Longer Walks

Posted on: February 6, 2010

Hello winter solstice!

Well, I know it’s been a while since the solstice occurred, but we are finally starting to reap the benefits: and by we I mean, Niko, Frasier and I, but mostly Frasier! We have had a few warmer (and by warmer I mean -4 to -12 degrees) days this week, which means I can actually bundle up baby N and take him out and about in his stroller, with Frasier tagging along. For the last two days we have gone for two 45 minutes walks. I used to find it pretty challenging to walk with both of them at the same time, until I discovered that the best way to walk Frasier is to tie his leash around my waist, which leaves both of my hands free for the stroller.  I can only imagine what my entourage and I must look like coming down the sidewalk!

In the past, when I had the leash wrapped around one hand and both hands on the stroller, I came in to a few, let’s just say tricky, situations: if Frasier ever decided to give a good pull – hello stroller wheelie! Yes, that move forced Niko to become an extreme strollerist, at the tender age of just a few months, cruising along on just two wheels! Anyway, the longer days and warmer temps are proving great for all of us – Niko gets fresh air, Frasier exerts some of his endless energy, and I get to do both!

Note: Check out the carseat cover, sans dancing ballerina bears.

6 Responses to "Longer Days, Longer Walks"

Great photo.
Perhaps you need to get a nice heavy leather belt with a carabiner on it, to tie Frasier to you and still leave your hand free. I think that I saw lots of carabines at your palce , last visit!
Dad

MacGyver strikes again……… 🙂

Good idea though!

it is a great photo … I am picturing the wheeley fom over here and the image of the tree of you walking with Frasier on his leash. Maybe time for Aunt Carolyn to come and teach Frasier a new trick? ie. heel? you say the lay down lesson from last summer is still fresh in his mind …

hope he can wait til fall … my next likely visit home.

xx your big sis.

You know, for a while there I was teaching Frasier a lot of tricks – crawl, stay, “find Alli”, etc…but none of these seem to be too helpful when out and about on the streets!

He’s looking forward to his next lesson from Aunt Carolyn!

xx

[…] dog within the city limits. Even though I said just a few days ago that the temperatures had been milder, I guess the overall mid. February weather is a bit unpredictable. I mean the day was sunny enough, […]

[…] their tiny handbags, their smooth, washed hair, and we turn away, we put down our heads, we keep on pushing the pram up the […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

