Parenting 2.0

Crying Baby Takes Flight

Posted on: February 2, 2010

Who wants to be the person on the plane with the crying baby? Not me, not me! Who was the person on the plane with a crying baby? I was, I was! Oh, joy!

Yes, I was that person who is one of the last ones to get on the plane – seeing as I was tending to Niko’s diaper – and walks on with a baby, all eyes wondering in paralyzed fear: is this mother and her babe going to be sitting by me? Well, halfway down the plane I plunked us into our window seat – a row of three, where thankfully the middle seat was empty, and the aisle seat was taken by a pleasant traveler in his 50s who reminisced with me about traveling to Acapulco with his daughter when she was only three months old. So at least he was somewhat understanding of the crying, but nonetheless it does not make for a mommy-comfortable situation when your baby is testing out his lung capacity before the plane has even left the ground.  All in all, the intense crying – because there is a difference between intense crying and the stifled cries that followed- probably only lasted for about five minutes, but time ticks along slowly when you are trying to calm your baby in a cramped space. And what seemed to calm him? The bounce’n’jiggle jig of course! You know that move where you bounce your baby on your knee, facing you, facing away from you, hold him up and jiggle him a little – whatever works!

I did find temporary relief when the stewardess came over the intercom and said, “We will be together for 2 hours and 14 minutes…blah blah blah”, I tuned out once I heard the time. Ok, just over two hours, WE CAN DO THIS! But then, five minutes later, when we still hadn”t left the ground, she pretty much repeated the same thing! What?! So I guess she must be referring to flying time, because even 15 minutes later, when we were finally in the air the countdown had not moved anywhere: still 2 hours and 14 min (of fun, I might add!). When Niko continued to cry, despite my best efforts at the bounce’n’jiggle jig, my friendly seatmate suggested he might be thirsty and also went on to say: “When the air pressure gets to be too much for your baby’s ears you better have cotton to put in them”. Hmm…I think I will just file that information under Usefulness Pending.

But, once we were in the air Niko pretty much calmed down, other than a few baby squeaks here and there. Phewf!

9 Responses to "Crying Baby Takes Flight"

maybe niko will become a pilot?

I’m not sure if a crying pilot would get hired at the interview… But who knows what criteria they look for… If it means free flights for us, that would be SWEET!

Usefulness Pending.. hahahaha

yah, that file just seems to be getting fuller and fuller………

[…] Niko and I are flying back to Ottawa and we are really excited to be reunited with Borys and Frasier! On our daily telephone […]

[…] Great Grandad's Moose Crying Baby Takes FlightNiko's Halifax AdventuresTorch 5Gully BlanketDark NightAbout AlliTorch 3To Grandmother's House We […]

[…] most of this comfort developed on the recent trip Niko and I took to Halifax, where airports and airplanes became ground for free-range feeding! Being discreet helped a lot with building up my level of […]

[…] When Niko and I were in the Halifax airport I was feeling sort of like a packhorse. Envision one mom, two gym bags – one crisscrossed […]

[…] totally fine. That is, until we take a break from the cloth. This break has come twice: once when Niko and I went to Halifax last winter and this past weekend when we visited my sister and her family. It’s […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

