Parenting 2.0

Gully Blanket

Posted on: February 1, 2010

You may be wondering: What the heck’s a gully blanket?, just as I was when I first heard the term. Upon having a child I have learned that there are many terms and phrases used for common baby items. For example, a soother may become a soo-soo, or a sooky, or a sucky, or a million other creative things that just seem to stick with certain families. Another baby item that has many different names is the infamous security blanket, you know the one that you see Linus from the Charlie Brown comics carrying around all the time? Different names I have heard for the security blanket are: blankie, bunkie, little special blanket (as Uncle Greg used to affectionately call his 🙂 ) and now gully blanket! Yes, gully blanket!

I discovered this term on one of my trips to Grandmother and Grandad’s house this week.  As I passed Niko into the somewhat resistant, but then appreciative arms of his Great Grandad he sort of started to cry – Niko, not my grandad. Upon hearing the fuss Great Grandad said: “Well, he probably wants his gully blanket”. “Gully blanket? What’s that?”, I wondered out loud. Great Grandad then said, “That blanket, the one that’s sitting over there on the couch where Niko used to be sitting”. And Grandmother chimed in, in agreeance, “Yes he might want his gully blanket”. My grandad then went on to explain that a gully blanket was so called because the child gets so attached to this blanket and then at times will suck on it and make a gully sound like this: “gully, gully, gully, gully, gully” and so on.  And when my usually quite composed grandfather was explaining this, he did so by mimicking a baby sucking his thumb and proceeded to make this funny gully sound over and over again, with a little smirk on his face! It was both cute and surprising to see my grandad acting out this scenario! And who knows, maybe one day Niko will also have a designated gully blanket of his own! But like my grandfather said, “Once he’s got one, you don’t want to lose it because it really can’t be replaced and the ensuing cries will prove it”!

4 Responses to "Gully Blanket"

haha little special blanket.. forgot about that one.. i remember the impression though.. i’d be apprehensive these days to put the blanket edge in my mouth for fear of the chewing satin/yarn sensation…. you know the one.. uhhh it makes me shudder…worse than chalkboard fingernails

Oh I remember that little special blanket very well…white with a bit of blue dots or something and washed so many times that it became ultra ultra soft…don’t worry there wasn’t any satin or yarn on it – but ewwwwwwwww, know exactly what you are talking about!

I had a “gully blanket” when I was small. It was called a “gully blanket” for precisely the same reason you mentioned. My family lived near Worcester, MA. I wonder if the term is or was regional.

Interesting! My grandparents lived in Halifax Nova Scotia…thanks for your comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

