Parenting 2.0

To Grandmother’s House We Go

Posted on: January 29, 2010

Even though there is no Big Bad Wolf (phew!) and neither Niko nor I have a red riding hood, there is something Little Red Riding Hood-esque about going off for a visit at Grandmother’s house. Yesterday Niko and I made our first trip together to Chestnut St. aka his Great Grandparents’ house, and upon arrival I experienced that wonderful welcoming and nostalgic feeling that can only be brought to life by a visit to see these two!

The feeling was a bit new this time seeing as I was introducing Niko to his Great Grandparents for the first time: and weren’t they delighted to see him! He enticed smiles from them, as they both held and cooed over him – I didn’t know that my Grandad liked babies so much, but according to the tell-tale smile on his face when he looked at little Niko, this is the case. Of course, I wanted to take a picture documenting the visit (gotta keep up with the blog, you know) and they both sort of resisted – Grandmother explaining that no one was even allowed to take a picture of Grandad on his 90th birthday, this past December. But then I convinced Grandad (after a short tutorial on how to use a digital camera) to take a photo of me, Niko and Grandmother, after which and probably to his chagrin I enticed him into a pic as well! Even though his eyes were closed I thought I better just count my blessings and take what I could get – so a closed eye pic it is, but a pic documenting the reality of the moment nonetheless.

Of course Niko went through his full baby cycle of wakefullness, sleepiness, and then hunger during our visit, and when he got sleepy, I wrapped him up like I normally do, only for Great Grandmother to say: “He looks just like a little papoose”. Then she wisely suggested I lie him down on “this blanket that had just blown in one day”. “Just blown in?”, I questioned. And she said yes, after some sort of storm it ended up on their lawn and when they hung it out to dry and no one came for it they adopted it for themselves, which eventually lead to Niko lying down on it’s thick and comfortable surface.

Grandmother spoiled me with a slice of her homemade apple pie while I was there (can you say YUM!), saying she had thought of me the day before when she was baking it! How sweet!!! Niko and I stayed for a good three hours and plan to go back this afternoon. There is something just so sweet about seeing their smiling faces waving from their front door when we arrive and and upon our departure.

Note: Yes, I am aware that it is winter and Niko and is shoe and sockless, but this is because Great Grandmother and Great Grandad got so much pleasure from seeing and touching his bare little feet! Hence the lonely Puma that sits on the edge of the table…

11 Responses to "To Grandmother’s House We Go"

[…] About Alli Gully Blanket To Grandmother’s House We Go […]

[…] Crying Baby Takes FlightNiko's Halifax AdventuresTorch 5Gully BlanketDark NightAbout AlliTorch 3To Grandmother's House We GoTorch […]

[…] discovered this term on one of my trips to Grandmother and Grandad’s house this week.  As I passed Niko into the somewhat resistant, but then appreciative arms of his […]

I love that he is wearing a Ciocio Ola and Uncle Bruce outfit from head to toe!

he’s one stylin’ little dude, thanks to you guys!

[…] 2: To see the thicker and longer hair the frames the base of his head more clearly, click here and take a look at the […]

[…] below is taken by my sister Carolyn, and is Borys and a six month pregnant me, enjoying lunch at my grandparents’ house, on the very day he told us this lovely little […]

[…] Just to finish up re: my grandmother’s gift. As I said, the outpouring of support from my friends and family since the birth of Niko has […]

[…] One day last month as Niko and I were hanging out with his Great Grandmother, he didn’t know what type of mood he was in. One second he seemed to be on the verge of […]

[…] who had five kids didn’t breastfeed a single one of them. She told me this when we visited her this winter. I just sort of assumed that most people breastfed back in those days. But she went on to say that […]

[…] Susie and then a couple of nights ago Aunt Carolyn and Uncle E drove in to Ottawa (en route to Halifax) for a visit. Seeing as they live abroad (Uganda and East Timor) this is the first time […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

