Parenting 2.0

Rush Hour, I Don’t Miss You

Posted on: January 26, 2010

So today Andrew headed off to start his month long stay with Ola and Bruce in Florida, and Niko and I happily volunteered to be his chauffeur to the airport.  Happily volunteered to drive him, but not so happy to be navigating the streets at 8:30 am and trying to get through the morning rush of cars. I had sort of forgotten about (or maybe blocked out?) morning rush hour seeing as I have been enjoying slow starts to my mornings for the past four months. I mean my mornings usually go something like this: hear Niko cry, feed him, change his diaper, drink coffee, check email, hang out with Niko, drink more coffee, blog, lie Niko down for a nap, check email, blog, etc. This morning our morning went more like this: hear Niko cry, feed him, change his diaper, hear alarm go off, get up for good, drink coffee, deck Niko out in winter gear and strap him in the car seat, hit the roads, pass cars, signal left, signal right, brake for the yellow?, YES! etc.

As I was making my way through the morning rush, I couldn’t help but think that this is what it will be like next September when I go back to work, except for instead of returning home after being out the streets I will be dropping my one year old off at someone’s house (whose? I still don’t know, but that is another story) and heading off to make some moula. Then to turn around and do the exact same thing the following day, and so on…geesh. As I think about this, I still wonder where my “million dollar idea” is and just hope I think of it before September comes… 🙂

4 Responses to "Rush Hour, I Don’t Miss You"

[…] If there ever was a need for a doggie bidet, yesterday was it! Could this be my multi-million dollar idea? Hmm, time will tell on that I guess. But it’s true, a couple of days ago a doggie bidet […]

[…] the time I got around to picking Niko up, after I’d faced my battle with the daily grind of rush hour, I was greeted with a smile that warmed my heart. He came right into my arms and I just loved that […]

[…] simply falls after another and before you know it a whole year has gone by and here I am back to battling rush hour and trying to get to work on time. Back to primping myself in the early morning: goodbye, lazy […]

[…] been. And can you blame me for the reflecting? I mean what else is a gal to do when stuck in a standstill of traffic and enveloped by exhaust fumes at only 8 am in the morning? Seriously, the radio can only get me so […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

