Parenting 2.0

Cellphones: Driving, Talking, Texting & You

Posted on: January 21, 2010

We often wait until something has gone awry in our lives before we decide to make a change. Just to illustrate, you might think: I’ve put on a few extra pounds, so I’m going to start working out, or my lungs are suffering so I’m going to quit smoking, or I’ve lost touch with some great friends, so I’m going to make more of an effort. And this list could go on and on.  Or sometimes waiting until January 1st is more our style: I will resolve to a better person this year by __________ (fill in the blank with a resolution of your choice – whatever that may be).

But why do we wait for something to go wrong or God forbid for some tragedy to happen before we decide to make positive changes in our lives? Is it because we are lazy? No, I don’t think so. I think it has something to do with the fact that at times clarity comes more easily once we come face to face with our downfalls, or have dealt with something life altering. Then I wonder, if we know there’s something that can improve our lifestyle or the world in general, then why not make a change now?! After all you don’t have to wait for the New Year, or a special occasion to make a change! Just like Anne of Green Gables said: “Marilla, isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”. That’s right; tomorrow is mistake free! So why not aim to keep it that way by making some changes for the better?

You may have guessed by the images around this entry, that what I am really getting at here is cellphone use while driving.  I think we (at least most of us) are all guilty of using our cellphones while at the wheel. I know I am. I mean how many times have I put off a phone call, until I got into the car, because that seemed like the only time I could fit it in? But after watching an episode of Oprah this week, I am now rethinking this habit.  According to statistics, people who chat on a cellphone while driving are four times more likely to end up in an accident (the same stats are also true for drunk driving), and people who text while driving are eight times more likely: so texting while driving, is statistically more dangerous than driving while impaired! Anyway, people are dying from these bad habits. Apparently talking on the phone – even if you are using a headset – causes some sort of peripheral blindness and blinds the driver from seeing all that is going on out on the streets.

Blind while driving?! This is a serious danger! Maybe it’s time to rethink cellphone use in the car: at least this is something I am going to rethink. I mean it’s not like I use my cell phone a lot, but all it takes is one time to get into an accident and the consequences could be deadly! Do I want to put my baby or my family or strangers into this kind of jeopardy? No! Is it convenient to use a cell phone in the car? Yes. But is it worth the risks? No! Let’s stop this nasty habit before more lives are put in danger by something that is so preventable!

Although the images I’ve chosen for this blog entry are serious but on the humourous side,  I did have my pick from a barrage of really graphic ones, and if you want to see some, just Google them yourself, and perhaps that will help to further drive this message home. But my point is: Let’s “hear the call” and stop cellphone use while driving! Keep your families safe on the roads and make a change now. It’s simple to do, and although yes, it could be a bit of an inconvenience, isn’t it worth if for the safety of you, your family and all the other innocent drivers out there?

5 Responses to "Cellphones: Driving, Talking, Texting & You"

I love the Anne-Marilla reference!

Yes, you would appreciate such a comment! Oh, Anne with and E, how we love thee…xx

Good to see that you are finally waking up to the hazards of driving. Things change once you are not driving dear old dad’s wheels. The reality of life endangering habits starts to rear it’s ugly head.
A GOOD POSITIVE MOVE, NOT USING YOUR CELL PHONE WHILE DRIVING.–Especially not texting!!!!!!
Your parenting experiences / responsibilites are molding you into a more responsible adult!

Love ya–dad

Dad! I never harmed your wheels, did I? Well…maybe there was that one time…

thanks for popping by my blog 🙂

[…] thing’s for certain: I have become a safer driver since the birth of little Niko, and not because I have a Baby on Board! sign, because I don’t […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

