Parenting 2.0

Baby on Board! Improves Driving

Posted on: January 19, 2010

You often see those little yellow signs on cars, suctioned to the inside of the back window and reading Baby or Board!. My question is: do these signs really work? When a driver sees them, are they more cautious? Do they actually process the sign and think about the little babe that may be traveling in the car in front of them? In talking with friends and family, most of them seem to think that the whole Baby on Board! thing is bunk.  But I suppose the scientific jury is still out, and a proper study would need to be done to know if these signs help make the roads safer or only serve as a distraction to other drivers.

One thing’s for certain: I have become a safer driver since the birth of little Niko, and not because I have a Baby on Board! sign, because I don’t have one. I suppose the increase in safety measures is mainly due to the fact that I am carting around precious cargo, but I also chalk it up to the calming effects driving seems to have on my little guy. Quite often when we are getting ready to go somewhere Niko becomes overly dramatic and starts in with the tears.  This could partially be a result of the fact that it is winter, and by the time I get him adequately bundled for the frigid temperatures and buckled into his car seat, he is probably a touch overheated! But, regardless of his temperature once I get the crying babe into the car, the car turned on, and we hit the streets, it doesn’t take long for him to calm down.  And it’s not like he goes to sleep (although sometimes he does), it just seems that the movement of the car has a calming effect.

This is where the me becoming a safer driver part comes in.  While the movement of the car calms him, coming to a complete stop has the reverse effect. So now, whenever I come up to a stop light I brake from a further (and safer) distance, just so I can extend the length of time that the car remains in motion, in an attempt to maintain that calm state. My ultimate goal being that once I get to lights it will have changed to green and I can just roll on through never actually having to cease movement (although that seems to be a rare occurrence). So while my baby is chilling in the backseat, I have to say the roads have become just a little bit safer.

1 Response to "Baby on Board! Improves Driving"

[…] as I reflected on these memories during the long (made extra long with a dog and baby on board) ride to see my sis and her fam, I couldn’t help but notice how times have changed. In a […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

