Parenting 2.0

Poodle’s Got Milk?

Posted on: January 12, 2010

I think we all know that cats have an affinity toward milk, but what about dogs? Remember those Milk ads from a few years back where a celebrity posed with a milk mustache? Well if those ads were still running and Frasier was a celebrity, I think I may have found a perfect candidate to model! Since Niko has come home from the hospital he has taken one bottle of breast milk a day – pumped, stored, frozen, then defrosted by Mommy, and finally served up in a bottle by Daddy. This system seems to work well: it gives Daddy and Niko a chance to bond, gives Mommy a little break from feeding, and ensures Niko will take a bottle if we ever go out on a date! (Date!? What’s that? But that’s another story…)

Anyway, like clockwork I take milk out of the freezer every day so it is pretty much thawed out by the time Borys gets home from work. Lately I have become addicted to the show The Hills – and have made it through almost about 4 seasons in just 2 weeks. The other day as I was enthralled in an earth-shattering episode, wondering if Heidi and Spencer would actually stay together, I heard Borys ask: “Why is there a milk bag on the floor?” “Milk bag?”, I thought. I have no clue, and in the moment all that came to mind was a big bag of 2% empty on the floor. “Oh I don’t know. Maybe it fell out of the garbage.”, is how I replied, or something like that. Well, time passed and I went to prepare Niko’s daily bottle.  Usually his milk thaws out in the dish rack, but lo and behold when I went to get it the dish rack was bare! – I sort of felt like Old Mother Hubbard for a second! Bare!? What!? How can this be? I specifically remembered taking the milk out of the freezer and putting it in the dish rack. So, I asked Borys if he’d seen it, and of course his response was, “That’s what I was talking about earlier, when I mentioned the empty milk bag on the floor!” I took the bag out of the garbage to inspect and sure enough it had the tell-tale signs of teeth marks, and had been adequately punctured and drained by none other than our adorable little culprit Frasier! Not to worry, there was milk on reserve in the fridge for little Niko. However, I was on puke-watch for the rest of the night, thinking for sure Frasier would vomit, but I guess the old slogan rings true even for dogs: Milk it does a body good!

3 Responses to "Poodle’s Got Milk?"

tooo funny — i am with you on not normally thinking a dog would drink milk (cow, goat, human!!! etc.!). however reuban (our bouvier x standard poodle dog for those that don’t know this furry cousin of frasier) will only eat dairy products, aside from his dog food. in puppy school he was not motivated by any treats at all — very difficult to train a dog when you cannot find a motivating treat … perhaps that is why he is the way he is!
anyway, i figured it out after he was a year old or so and all he tends to eat for treats is cheese (he can even hear me open the tupperware bin i keep my cheese block in and he comes running) and he sneaks milk if there is any left in cups on the table or in cereal bowls. i have come home in the morning after dropping the kids off to school with the dishes emptied of their milk and scratch marks up ON the table (imagine my 80 lb dainty darling dancing among the dishes on the table!)
marion

oh my…that put a smile on my face! Yes, they are little darlings aren’t they? Although I am not sure I would use dainty to describe Reuben! (nice alliteration though 🙂 )

[…] And as you can see, there’s no spoon in sight. It’s probably lying somewhere underfoot, licked clean by our live-in vacuum cleaner. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

