Parenting 2.0

Bite into Reading

Posted on: January 10, 2010

Both Borys and I love to read, and we agree that it is important to pass this love onto Niko.  He can learn so much from reading; he can learn about history, expand his imagination, learn new vocabulary: the list is endless and the benefits are amazing. A few times since Niko was born I have tried to read to him.  At first I was reading his books, but he really paid no attention. So then I figured, since we wasn’t exactly getting the gist of the story I would read my books to him.  I think at the time I was reading the novel Half Broke Horses, so I gave that a whirl.  I’ve heard that babies just like the rhythm of reading, so it doesn’t really matter what you read to them, as long as they can hear the rhythmic tone of your voice. But even reading my novel to him wasn’t too inspirational, for him or me.

Anyway, seeing as I have noticed an improvement in his hand eye coordination, I decided to try one of his books again yesterday, and he seemed to really enjoy it.  We were looking at (I can’t really say reading, as there is no written story line in this particular book, it is more left up to the imagination of the child and the reader how the story will develop) a soft book called Discovery Farm, that he received as a Christmas gift from Dziadzio. The book is filled with lots of bright colours and textures, and Niko even reached out for the pages and seemed to turn them.  But he also had a hankering for just biting the pages, hence the title of this blog entry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

