Parenting 2.0

Dark Night

Posted on: January 8, 2010

“A mother bringing up a child must feel that she’s plunging into the Dark Night.” (Brida, Coelho)

Oh help me, for I am plunging, plunging, plunging, deeper and deeper into this dark night… Ok, so maybe my life is not as dramatic as this, and it’s not like you need to bust out the smelling salts to wake me from this plunge, but yesterday this quote gave me something interesting to think about. I am currently reading Paulo Coelho’s book, Brida, and loving it.  You know when you have a book that makes you stay up past your bedtime just to see what’s going to happen? Well, it’s been a long time since I read a book that made me feel this way, but then Brida came along – a selection from my book club.

Last night, this quote about the dark night really struck a chord with me.  I couldn’t help but wonder: is it because we are forced to get up with these little babes in the dark of night, semi-blindly tending to their needs, that he wrote it? Ha, I don’t think so. I’m sure he’s writing about something a little more deep, something like choosing a path for your child, or at least for your parenting style: I guess only the child can choose the right path for them self, and parents are left merely to guide, encourage and perhaps coax. As I have learned from my own experiences as a teen, it’s pretty tough to force one to follow your will, even when you have the best intentions. But what is this dark night that Coelho writes about? At first glimpse it sounds like something terrible: mothers going blindly into parenting. On second thought, nighttime can be beautiful: depending on where you are, it’s so quiet, still and serene, and can even be a comfort (as long as you don’t let your mind play too many tricks on you!).

This dark night has definitely provided some food for thought. Yes, at times, being a new parent is sort of like fumbling around in the dark, but I find solace in the fact that after just a little while in darkness our eyes adjust allowing us to see more clearly. Furthermore, when I do make parenting mistakes, can’t I just blame it on the darkness, and the fact that my vision was impaired? Anyway, even though day by day I am plunging further and further into this previously unknown realm of parenting, I am trying to do so with eyes wide open, in hopes that I can lead the way to a bright future for little Niko – and any other little munchkins that may come along. 🙂

7 Responses to "Dark Night"

I like this one……….Ali,You are the writer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

love it…and book is on order chez chapters!

like i said, I love the book, although it has mixed reviews online… 🙂

wow. period. wow. you are truly an awe-inspiring writer and ‘ponderer’! i love your excerpts. i guess only these can come from an english major.

[…] I am enjoying being a first-time mom and getting to know my son, Niko. I aim to maintain balance in my life, although inevitably the […]

[…] always prepare dinner for the former of the two…), the kind that has maintained being in a book club and going to cardio-kickboxing classes despite having become a mom, and the kind that documents our […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

