Parenting 2.0

“Three” Milestones

Posted on: January 7, 2010

According to Daddy three major developments took place in the life of our child yesterday: two of which I will also vouch for. First off, on Wednesday nights I usually go to a cardio-kickboxing class, but seeing as my back is bothering me this week, I decided to take the night off from cardio class, and run a few errands – ranging from picking up poop-n-scoop bags for Frasier to indulging in a pedicure (and a few others in between!) I am still amazed, when left to my own devices, at how much I can accomplish in an hour or two these days (as opposed to the pre-Niko days).  Anyway, as I was getting ready to go Borys urgently called me back up the stairs to see this first “milestone”.  Sure enough Niko was holding Sophie the Giraffe and bringing her up to his mouth to chew.  Borys tested a few times to make sure it wasn’t a fluke and each time, Niko grabbed the giraffe and brought it back to his mouth.  Now this may sound like no big deal, but this show of hand eye coordination had yet to be seen from our little babe, so in our eyes, this was very exciting! And again, I am amazed at what now “excites” us, to when I compare what was categorized as excitement in the pre-Niko days.

Round two of the “milestones” happened when I returned home. As I gingerly walked up the snowy steps in my flip-flops (careful to take care of those pampered toes), and into the house, I immediately heard Borys calling from upstairs: “Alli, come here! Come here!”, not in a tone of panic but again one of those post-Niko birth excited type voices.  So, I made my way as quickly as I could all the way to the upstairs bathroom to find Niko on his back on the counter (post-diaper change I am assuming) and Borys excitedly saying “Daddy!” in this really over-exaggerated (and I guess funny) voice! Well, lo and behold, Niko was giggling, and it was adorable! Giggling! What a wonderful sound to hear coming from your baby – once I find my camera (it’s currently MIA – but so were my license and cell phone, and I found both of them) I have to get a video of this! Borys swears he was “really” giggling even more before I got there. However I did catch the tail end, and it was worth putting my pedicure in jeopardy to hear that lovely sound! (P.S. – My pedicure survived the rush, impeccably).

And the thrid “milestone” which I have yet to bare witness to, but will write about anyway seeing as Borys claims it’s true, is that Niko said “Dah-dee” a.k.a. “Daddy”! Hmm…I am not too sure about that one.

8 Responses to "“Three” Milestones"

Glad to see niko loves sophie. I wondered when Sophie was going to start playing with him.Nice pic. xo

Well…playing with Sophie is much easier now that he is mainly mitts off! Thanks for your comment, xo

AFT: Your humor is impeccable, your stories are amazing, however for an English teacher, you had better start using spell check. Of course spell check would not find mis-used homonymns spelled correctly. Perhaps you need grammar check.
Unless you took off more than your shoes to check out Niko’s supposed first word, I suggest that you have yet to “bear witness” Niko’s attempts to talk.–your dad!!

Glad to hear you’re enjoying my blog, Dad: thanks for the feedback. And you know, I actually had that word spelled as “bear” but as I was proof-reading it, I thought, “Wait a minute, “bear” is the animal, so it must be the other one…” and I changed it!

As I often tell my students when they catch me in err, “We are all learners here”. 🙂

[…] and is there to be played with during diaper changing time. Diaper Monkey is about the same size as Sophie the Giraffe, with the same small arms and legs that make it easy for little hands to hold, but instead of being […]

[…] is chewing voraciously on Sophie the Giraffe, and the next minute she has been dropped on the floor. I pick it up, give it back to him and […]

[…] Poor little Sophie almost suffered her demise today. Thank goodness all she actually suffered was some dog slobber, […]

[…] with all of them, but has taken to favouring a few: his box of blocks, a  little Tonka train set, Sophie (of course), and a few other randoms. Every once in a while I switch his toys so he can play with […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

