Parenting 2.0

Nicknames

Posted on: December 15, 2009

With the birth and naming of a child, nicknames inevitably follow.  I mean you want to name your kid something that they can be proud of, a name that kids can not tease them about (although any name can be made fun of, I am sure!).  Regardless of his name, Niko has already been nicknamed many things by many people (but mostly by me and Borys). Some of his nicknames are as follows (and don’t ask me where they came from, because they seem to have just developed naturally over the last three months): Sweet Little Angel Boy (there’s even a song that I made up that goes with this one!), (little) monster man, Nikush (this is Polish for a “little cute Niko”, but I fear I have butchered the spelling on it…), doll-face, cute little guy, little man, little grandpa, krasnoludek (Polish for a common garden gnome), cute little man, stinkster, Niko-Frederico, and probably many more to come.

I think Niko-Frederico simply developed because it rhymes, but it does bring back memories of how I got the nickname Fred.  Fred is still a name that my dad and husband and a few others call me on occasion, and from what I can gather this is how that nickname came to be.  When I was just a baby, (cute as can be I am sure!), my mom brought me grocery shopping with her.  Someone stopped her and said: “What a cute little baby! What’s his name?” His name?! Can you believe it?! Hmph! Anyway, my mom just went with it and said that my name was Fred! Well, ever since that day, Fred has stuck! Now, seeing as I am the third born in my family, and the third girl, my take is that perhaps this was a hint of what my mom really wanted my name to be, or for that matter my gender! I have asked about this many times, and my mom (re)assures that even though I was the third born girl, that my parents really didn’t want a boy (although when she was pregnant many people did ask: “Going for a boy, eh?”), but she tells me that this is not the case and that she and my dad always wanted three or four kids, regardless of if they were boys or girls! Well, when number four came along they were finally blessed with a real boy: my brother Greg!

Note: When Marion and her fam were here this weekend this is how one of the conversations went:

Audra: Aunt Alli, why do you call Niko “Doll-face”?

Alli: Hmm…I am not really sure. It just seems to come out naturally.

Marion: You know, I just realized that I call John Russell “Doll”, and I have no idea where it came from.

4 Responses to "Nicknames"

The former rather than the latter for the name Fred. Only detail that you were missing was that you were dressed in pink bows and frilly dress when the guy asked your mum what HIS name was.
As stated many times, it didn’t matter what sex you were, as long as ggod health was part of the delivery package and you fit that good health bill perfectly.

Well, I didn’t know that detail about the dress! Ha. And thanks again for the reassurance 😛

[…] Then yesterday our thoughts were confirmed when I brought him to my friend Natalie’s baby shower. There were about five babies there in total, and at one point a woman who was at the shower and who I was sitting beside (who also had six babies of her own and now has countless grandkids) took a good look at Niko and said something like, “Wow, he looks like a little boy. That baby look just isn’t there anymore.” I had to agree, but to hear someone else qualify our thoughts made it that much more real. Our little guy is growing up: I just keep in mind that thus far his worldly experience only goes so far as seven months: so regardless of his “mature” look he’s still our little babe – or as I like to call him, my Sweet Little Angel Boy. […]

[…] babe, I made up a song and sang it to him daily. The words were something along the lines of “My sweet little angel boy“ and then basically just repeated over and over again to a particular tune that I cannot […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

