Parenting 2.0

The Torch Relay

Posted on: December 12, 2009

111: this is the number of times and days that I nominated myself to carry the Olympic torch, and all that persistence paid off. Today has been a long time coming, since I first saw the Coke ad on TV last February asking if I wanted to carry the Olympic flame. Carry the flame?! It didn’t take long for me to realize with an emphatic YES, that this was definitely something I wanted to do! So I went online, looked into the details and started nominating myself.  After a few months I got randomly selected to go to the next round and write a brief essay -around 200 words – about how I live an active lifestyle (see Active Living essay below).

The beginning of my Olympic Torch Relay dream pretty much coincided with Borys and me happily discovering I was pregnant with Niko, but seeing as he was due in October and the torch would be coming through Ottawa in December, I figured I would be good to go for the Torch Relay! And good to go I was! What an amazing, amazing experience: one that will be etched clearly in my memory (and in the hundreds of pictures that friends and family took!) for the rest of my life!

Niko was an amazing baby too! Even though I was fretting about the “baby logistics”, I really didn’t need to worry seeing as he happily slept through most of the morning and we were back home by noon.

Active Living: A Lifelong Commitment

I have always lived an active lifestyle.  I have trained for half-marathons, triathlons and also a marathon.   I participated in these events with long-distance friends; we updated each other on our training and would finally meet up on race day to run together.  One friend told me that she ran a half-marathon because of something I said to her.  I told her if she could run a 10km race, then she could do a half-marathon.  She took it to heart, started training, and eventually we both ran the Ottawa half-marathon in 2006.

Teaching has given me the opportunity to share my passion for an active lifestyle.  I have participated in student vs. teacher sports, and have coached cross-country and football.  In 2005 I was inspired by my Director of Education to start karate.  A friend and I started together and progressed through all the belts, which culminated in our black belt exam in June 2008.  I have since continued with karate, and now have my mind set on earning my second degree black belt.  My husband and I are expecting our first baby this October! Throughout my pregnancy I have remained an active participant in karate and aim to maintain this as a lifelong form of exercise.

10 Responses to "The Torch Relay"

Cooool. 111 times, wow you really put your mind to it. And sounds like it really paid off ! Well done, I’m sure you savored it.

Your track suit looks great! Did you need to get a smaller size?
Congrats Allie!!!!!!

They wouldn’t exchange it in the end, but it worked out well: I just rolled up the pants at the top and wore my winter coat under the jacket 😛

[…] Vancouver next month the theme of the winter activity day was the Olympics, and seeing as I was an official torchbearer this past December, yours truly was asked to light the bonfire to start off the […]

[…] About Alli Out With the Old The Torch Relay […]

Hi Alli,
Congratulations! Your joy and enthusiasm is exactly what I absorbed here in Vancouver, my home town. For the first time the city felt BIG.
Downtown was full of high spirits; everyone smiling, laughing and connecting to an energy that I anticipate will grace our city for a long time.
Nicole

Thanks Nicole, It certainly looked (from the view from my TV) like Van. had wonderful spirit over the last few weeks! How lucky for you to live there and experience it first hand!
Cheers, A

[…] my Olympic Torchbearers uniform – check (Tell me, why did I order an […]

[…] and I celebrate our 6th anniversary (at the annual regatta). I find out I have been selected to carry the Olympic Torch in […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

