Parenting 2.0

When I See You Smile

Posted on: December 3, 2009

I’ve heard that more than 50% of human communication comes from body language.  I am not sure on the exact percentage, and I think it is actually higher than that, but I can’t find a solid source right now, so I am just going from memory  – and my memory has to account for something, after all I did take Soc. 101 in uni. Anyway, I digress…

Although Niko can’t actually talk yet, he has definite ways of communicating through facial expressions.  I suppose all babies do this, but each one must have their own nuances, no?  Some of Niko’s faces are as follows: furrowed brow, eyes wide open – surprise, eyes wide open – alert and curious and looking everywhere, pouting with his lower lip (I find it funny that this is an innate characteristic), turning beat red and pushing or grunting (we all know what that means :) ), silent terror (once he lost his balance on my lap, and of course I caught him, but in that second of non-balance he did look terrified – poor little guy!), and of course his SMILE (that one has to be my favourite!)

He is smiling more and more each day and it is wonderful to see: he even smiles, and giggles in his sleep sometimes! I wonder what he is thinking about? I mean really, his imagination can’t be that big seeing as his experiences are so limited to date. Anyway, that smile is like a ray of sunshine – it sort of reminds me of that cheesy 80s love ballad by that glam-hair band, Bad English, called When I See You Smile (which, by the way, used to be mine and my sister Marion’s favourite song when it came out – so much so that we probably rewound the cassette – yes cassette, we had it on cassette! – about 100 times just so we could listen to it over and over again).  Note: Bypass the first 12 seconds of the above link to hear this glam band in action.

When I see you smile
I see a ray of light, oh oh,
I see it shining right through the rain
When I see you smile
Oh yeah, baby when I see you smile at me

Baby there’s nothing in this world
that could ever do
What a touch of your hand can do
It’s like nothing that I ever knew

3 Responses to "When I See You Smile"

[…] In the past few days Niko has been smiling a lot more.  His smile is so adorable and heartwarming! His whole face seems to light up and his eyes go into […]

[…] I started rapping out this tune, I got an unexpected surprise from my baby boy: a huge grin.  It seems he was impressed by my impeccable recall of these outdated lyrics. A few hours later I […]

[…] I remember the first few times Niko smiled – it was so heartwarming (and still is)! Thankfully, those smiles are daily occurrences these days, many times over. I also […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

