Parenting 2.0

Hands-Free Baby

Posted on: November 30, 2009

We’ve all heard or perhaps thought the saying: If only I had a third hand.  However, it’s not been until Niko was born that I’ve truly felt the sentiments of these words.  I mean, really, a third hand would help out a lot! This is why I am so happy to have discovered the Baby Bjorn! We bought one on the weekend and I got around to opening and trying it out today.  This contraption really does make for a hands-free baby.  Not only does it free up another hand, but when I am using the Baby Bjorn I have two hands free! Imagine that.

I thought this Bjorn would be perfect for walking the dog too: just strap Niko in and away we go.  However, once I got him bundled in his snowsuit (as we had our first snowfall today!), shove as I was, there was really no way to shove Niko comfortably into the Bjorn. Perhaps I needed to take a bit more time trying to figure it out, but when Frasier – our poodle – needs to get outside he can get a little hyber, nosing his way into everything. So with this nosy dog around I just couldn’t figure out how to fanagle the Bjorn with a baby in a snowsuit.  But, I have seen pictures of other people doing it, so there must be a way.

5 Responses to "Hands-Free Baby"

Ali:
Pretty neat how you find the toons to match the commentary–or is it the other way around—find the toons then write the story—either way, it’s very clever and entertaining—love DAD

Thanks Dad! And to set the record straight – first comes the inspiration, 2nd comes the toon.

Snow!!!!???? YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[…] the brilliant idea (well, I thought it was brilliant) of bringing along a (rear-view) mirror.  The baby carrier I use has Niko front facing, and only with the mirror in hand, can I  clearly see the little […]

[…] that the best way to walk Frasier is to tie his leash around my waist, which leaves both of my hands free for the stroller.  I can only imagine what my entourage and I must look like coming down the […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

