Parenting 2.0

Niko With a “K”

Posted on: November 27, 2009

On the day Niko was born I sent out a text message via my cellphone to friends and family that we had had a baby boy, four weeks early!  At the time I sent a hasty and excited message that went something like this: “Baby surprise today! Nico Gregory weighing in at just under 6lbs”.  When I got home from the hospital, I also sent out some pics via email of our new son, some of which were labeled Nico and some that were labeled Niko.

Before Niko was born, Borys and I had discussed the spelling of his name.  Would it be Nico or Niko? I didn’t have too much of a preference, but Borys really wanted it with a “K”.  So, Niko with a “K” is what we decided on.  However, in the haste and excitement of the messages I first sent out, I misspelled his name.  This would probably explain the confusion some of my friends and family now have about spelling his name. It is my fault! I am the one who has confused everyone, and now this is an attempt to set the record straight, to give our son a single identity, and let people know his name is officially Niko with a “K” :).

Note: Niko’s full name is actually Nikolai.

1 Response to "Niko With a “K”"

[…] With the birth and naming of a child, nicknames inevitably follow.  I mean you want to name your kid something that they can be proud […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

