Parenting 2.0

Tethered Tongue

Posted on: November 21, 2009

In the early days, when Niko was first born, he was having some issues with breastfeeding.  Seeing as he was in the NICU, we were seeing a lactation consultant to help us get going.  One day the lactation consultant felt around in his mouth, and afterward suggested that we get his tongue snipped. Snipped?! I had no idea what she was talking about! She went on to explain that she thought he had a tongue-tie or tethered tongue and that this was impeding his ability to breastfeed.  I had never heard of such a thing and inquired a bit more.  She told me it was a simple procedure done at the doctor’s office, where the tie that is under the tongue, that connects to the base of the mouth is simply snipped so that his tongue can latch easier when nursing.  This sounded a bit barbaric to me, but she told me it really doesn’t hurt the baby, and that there is no freezing needed: the doctor just goes in with the clippers and does the trick. Ouch! (That was all I could think at the time.)

She also told me that having a tongue-tie can hinder speech development in the future.  This got me thinking, so I talked to my doctor about it and she was leaning toward NOT getting the snip.  She said it used to be really common, but not so much anymore, and that a lot of times, newborns’ tongues will stretch as they grow and they will therefore grow out of not being able to latch.  My doctor further went on to feel his tongue-tie and did not think it was a concern.  After talking with Borys, we decided not to get the snip.

Over the past couple of weeks, Niko has been sticking out his tongue a lot.  Sometimes when we stick ours out at him, he will mirror this back, with a smile! And, he just sticks it out on his own as well, for no apparent reason.  I can’t help but wonder: is he just trying to prove, “See Mom and Dad, I didn’t need to get that nasty little snip! Look at me, I can stick my tongue out like the best of them!”.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

