Parenting 2.0

Weighing In At…

Posted on: November 19, 2009

Well, this H1N1 has really thrown a curve ball to checking the weight of my baby.  Normally in Ottawa, there are well-baby drop-in clinics that are open where parents can bring their babies to get them weighed.  Due to H1N1 all the public health nurses have been reassigned to vaccination centres and these well-baby drop-in clinics have temporarily closed.  That said I have not been able to get Niko weighed for the last four weeks! When he was last weighed at four weeks old he was close to 8 lbs.

Finally today, after a long four weeks he had his two month check up.  I knew he was growing because he had grown out of certain outfits and his grasp on my finger can now almost go around the whole way, whereas before his grasp barely went halfway around. So I brought him in for a formal check-up and he weighed in at just over 11 lbs, which the doctor was happy to report was well within the normal range, even considering that he was four weeks premature. At the clinic he also received two vaccines, which brought him to tears.  I gave him Tylenol before we went the clinic but could not figure out why he was so fussy this afternoon, until I talked to my mom and she told me that the vaccines can be very sore and even induce a fever and that I can continute to administer the Tylenol every four hours! Well, it’s a little late for that advice seeing as he is snoozing on his daddy’s lap right now, but I guess when he wakes up I can give him more medicine just in case he is still feeling upset.  How was I supposed to know?!

5 Responses to "Weighing In At…"

[…] to a “well baby” drop-in clinic to get Niko weighed – check (but it was closed due to nurses being reassigned to H1N1 […]

[…] the Fall, I really haven’t thought about H1N1 that much – or for that matter at all. Borys and I both got vaccinated, and then put it behind us, just […]

[…] Ready with his Tylenol Army, Niko braved yet another visit to the doctor’s office this morning. I finally got him in for his six month check up and […]

[…] 2: At Stella’s one month check up, her stats were asfollows: weight – 10 lb 8 oz, height – 22 inches. (90th percentile […]

[…] 2: At Stella’s one month check up, her stats were asfollows: weight – 10 lb 8 oz, height – 22 inches. (90th percentile […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

