Parenting 2.0

It’s Not My Party, But I’ll Cry If I Want To

Posted on: November 8, 2009

Niko has been looking forward to his friend Talia’s first birthday party all week! She turned one a few days ago, but her big bash was today.  Although Niko was looking forward to partying with her, his “on demand” schedule had other plans.  The party started at 12:30pm, and just as we were getting ready to leave his crying started: translated into proper English this crying meant “Mommy, feed me!”.  So, an hour, a full tummy and a fresh diaper later we were on our way.

Now, seeing as we were going to a baby’s birthday party there were lots of kids and parents there.  We apologized for being late, and they all understood.  My only worry was: what if Niko gets hungry at the party? Where will I feed him? (We brought a bottle just in case.) In talking with two other moms at the party, I realized we all have this similar sense of being uncomfortable just breastfeeding openly at parties, and it was a relief to know that I was not the only mom feeling this way.  Inevitably, as time passed, the “Mommy, feed me!” cries started again.  But there was no need to break out the bottle; we just went upstairs to the computer room, took our time in the peace and quiet and listened to Happy Birthday being sung from downstairs.  The only minor interruption came from some older kids who were playing hide-and-seek and barged in looking for a place to hide – of course what they found was something entirely different!

Note: In the picture below you can see Talia – the birthday girl -poised to give Niko what I can only assume is a birthday love tap.

Talia 2

Talia 1

3 Responses to "It’s Not My Party, But I’ll Cry If I Want To"

[…] Comment! Niko hosted a play date at our place last week – well who am I kidding it was just as much for the moms as it was the babies (well who am I kidding again, it was mostly for the mothers…). Anyway, this pic was the ensuing result! At the point this photo was taken, Niko was overdue for a nap and whining to the tune of “It’s My Party and I’ll Cry if I Want To”. […]

[…] PICTURE 1) Talia, Amelie, Isabelle and Niko PICTURE 2) Niko, Giuliana, and Eli PICTURE 3) Niko, Eva and Eli PICTURE […]

[…] weekend we went to Marc and Mel’s house for lunch. Little Talia, who is about a year and a half old, has so many different toys and Niko had a great time playing, […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

