Parenting 2.0

Cardio Kickboxing Does a Body Good

Posted on: November 5, 2009

woman_kickboxingGoal setting is what drives me to accomplish all the major things I have achieved in my life.  I usually set goals for myself and then do what I need to do to accomplish them.  Prior to becoming pregnant, karate had been a pretty big part of my life: I attended class about three times a week and eventually worked up to my black belt in June 2008.  Upon becoming pregnant I continued with karate until about seven months of pregnancy, when Borys and I went on a Halifax roadie.

Before Niko was born I set a goal for myself to return to the dojo before the New Year of 2010, and last night I achieved this goal! Again, I could not really do this without the amazing support of my hubby as he is the one who Niko-sits when I go.  But, in consultation with my doctor last week he cleared me for going back to exercise, but warned that if it hurt to do sit-ups (due to the c-section) to just take it easy with those for a while.  I have decided to attend cardio kickboxing classes as opposed to karate at this time, as it is a little more mindless: I just listen to the instructor and do as I am told, whereas karate takes a bit more focus and thought.  For now, this suits me just fine, and my new goal is to try to attend one kickboxing class a week!

I think it’s important for women, after giving birth, not to give up on themselves and to try to maintain their individual identity: the key here is balance. I mean, yes I am a mom, but that is only a part of who I am, a piece of the puzzle (albeit a big piece at this time!).  I am not saying that all women should start exercising; but whatever it was that drove them pre-baby should still be a part of their life post-baby.  For me, this happens to be karate and I think maintaining who I am as an individual will only help to make me a better mom overall.

7 Responses to "Cardio Kickboxing Does a Body Good"

Hi Alli,
I thought I would drop by and say hi, as you were kind enough to visit my blog and leave a comment- thanks again:)

Good for you for getting back into exercise and striving for balance. I can only imagine that motherhood is wonderful but also at times difficult. Bravo to you for doing what is necessary to find your inner harmony.

Keep writing and sharing your experience, it’s great!

All the best,
Sarah (the nail polish despiser- hee!)

Hey Sarah,

Thanks for your positive feedback! This blogging can be addictive but is proving to be a good outlet for my daily musings on motherhood.

Take care, Allison

you go girl!
🙂

borys, you took the works right out of my mouth … allie: way to go girl power!!!
you continue to inspire and well done for that!

can she kick it?
yes she can.
can she kick it?
yes she can!

[…] child yesterday: 2 of which I will also vouch for. First off, on Wednesday nights I usually go to a cardio-kickboxing class, but seeing as my back is bothering me this week, I decided to take the night off from cardio […]

[…] dinner for the former of the two…), the kind that has maintained being in a book club and going to cardio-kickboxing classes despite having become a mom, and the kind that documents our family’s adventures in my blog. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

