Parenting 2.0

Sleepy Head

Posted on: November 2, 2009

babyHow much do babies need to sleep? And how am I supposed to know the answer to this question?  At times I feel like there is some magical formula out there, and I am just searching for the ingredients to the recipe called The Right and Wrong Way to Raise a Baby.  But then when I really think about it, I realize that this magical formula can’t exist: there is no perfect way.  As time passes I guess I will gain confidence and develop and rely on my own instincts. But seriously, when do babies get on a schedule?

Right now Niko sleeps a lot, but over the past few days I have noticed a shift.  He is sleeping less and has more alert time. Last night I set my alarm for 4am and had planned to feed him then, but he had other plans and woke up hungry at 3am: maybe it had something to do with the time change. This morning he followed a similar pattern: he woke up hungry at 6:30 am and I had my alarm set for 8am. But what a smiley guy he was this when he woke; I have never seen him grin so much! I have to say, that the first few weeks with him have been amazing and getting to know this little man is so much fun.

But back to the main question: I wonder, is he ready to sleep through the night? I know if I look online I will come up with about a million websites offering me free advice.  Is he too young to try to do this now?  Probably the best thing to do is just listen to my baby. Won’t he tell me if he’s ready? Well, I just did a quick search and this is the first hit I came up with.  I guess he might still be a bit young for a full night’s rest…and who knew a full night’s rest in baby terms only meant 5 hours!?

Sleeping Through the Night

You have probably heard that babies should start “sleeping through the night” at about 2 to 4 months of age. What you must understand is that, for a new baby, a five-hour stretch is a full night. Many (but nowhere near all) babies at this age can sleep uninterrupted from midnight to 5 a.m. (Not that they always do.) A far cry from what you may have thought “sleeping through the night” meant!

What’s more, while the scientific definition of “sleeping through the night” is five hours, most of us wouldn’t consider that anywhere near a full night’s sleep for ourselves. Also, some of these sleep-through-the-nighters will suddenly begin waking more frequently, and it’s often a full year or even two until your little one will settle into a mature, all-night, every night sleep pattern. (http://babyparenting.about.com/cs/sleeping/a/newbornsleep.htm)


2 Responses to "Sleepy Head"

[…] waiting behind him, just in case), chew (sort of) with his two bottom teeth, giggle a lot, and sleep most nights from 7:30 to 5 or 6 […]

[…] into a deep sleep and sleep for longer. But as with most things baby related, time will tell, and it’s bound to change. But I’m trying this technique again tonite, and the next night, and the next night, and the […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

